Boys Like You by Juliana Stone

Boys Like YouBoys Like You by Juliana Stone

Publication: May 6th 2014 by Sourcebooks

Series: None

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

One mistake.

And everything changes.

For Monroe Blackwell, one small mistake has torn her family apart –leaving her empty and broken. There’s a hole in her heart that nothing can fill. That no one can fill. And a summer in Louisiana with her Grandma isn’t going to change that…

Nathan Everets knows heartache first-hand when a car accident leaves his best friend in a coma. And it’s his fault. He should be the one lying in the hospital. The one who will never play guitar again. He doesn’t deserve forgiveness, and a court-appointed job at the Blackwell B&B isn’t going to change that…

Captivating and hopeful, this achingly poignant novel brings together two lost souls struggling with grief and guilt – looking for acceptance, so they can find forgiveness.

How should I start this review?

Just by reading the synopsis alone, you know that’s it’s going to be one of those novels. The kind that features two broken souls and somehow, along their twisted roundabout life, find love and comfort in each other.

Basically, that’s a summary of what this book is about. I honestly can’t find anything that makes this novel stand out among its other relatives. Combined with average and somewhat bland writing, I found Boys Like You to be quite unsatisfying.

Monroe Blackwell is a great mystery for me. I think her actions come off quite unsure and awkward especially with Nathan. Other than that, I like the fact that she doesn’t like football like Nathan does. There are times when characters change views/ideals for the sake of the love interest, and it just irritates me.

Nathan Everets – what a name by the way – is the cliched and charming boy with secrets. What I loved most about his character is his personal devotion for his best friend, Trevor. You’ll know what I’m talking about if you read it. I think it’s one of the highlights in the book.

The biggest problem I had with this book is the instalove. I mean, you just met in a day and suddenly you’re hyperaware of the way she smells? No, just no.

Also, I think we focused a bit too much on Nathan’s story instead of Monroe’s. I think her story was squished in a few pages and sentences or so while we get a whole lot of coverage on Nathan’s.

I also didn’t care too much on the side characters.

Nonetheless, the book was okay. The pacing was excellent, the delivery of events was well-done. I just wished the writing could’ve been improved; I had quite high hopes on this, actually.

If you’re looking for a sweet contemporary novel with a touch of drama, then you might want to check this out.

3 stars

One thought on “Boys Like You by Juliana Stone

Leave a Reply

