Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

CrescendoCrescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Publication: October 19th 2010 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Series: Hush, Hush #2

Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

Nora Grey’s life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn’t pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it. But Patch has been acting anything but angelic lately. He’s more elusive than ever and, even worse, he’s started spending time with Nora’s arch-enemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who’s moved back to town, if Patch hadn’t been acting so distant. Even with Scott’s totally infuriating attitude Nora finds herself drawn to him – despite her lingering feeling that he’s hiding something.

Haunted by images of her murdered father, and questioning whether her Nephilim bloodlines has anything to do with his death, Nora puts herself increasingly dangerous situations as she searches for answers. But some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything – and everyone – she trusts.

My Review.

Nora Grey has guy problems. There are some scenarios in the novel where in she momentarily squeezes in her forbidden romance/break-up with Patch. I can understand what she’s going through and why she pretty much says unreasonable things, but girl could you at least talk about it when the situation calls for it? Something bad always happens when she follows her heart rather than her mind.

But I really admire Nora’s initiative. Even in the stickiest situations, she manages to formulate a plan to get out of that sticky mess. Like when she broke in Scott Parnell’s room. I guess being a nerd pays off. No offence.

Speaking of Scott Parnell, when his character was introduced I was intrigued. I already suspected that he was Nephilim. I hope we get more of him in the third book – which I’ll be reading soon after I finish writing this review ha. He’s a big jerk and has a foul mouth, but he can be really vulnerable which was surprising.

I’m in a love/hate relationship with Patch. Yeah, I feel you Nora. I don’t like his whole attitude towards Nora and he’s a player for pete’s sake. I thought we only read about them in adult novels. But when you look beyond that charade and try to assess his reasons for his actions, it makes sense in a twisted sort of way.

Another character I want to talk about is Vee. I AM IN LOVE WITH HER. Honestly, she’s my favourite character so far in the series. I feel like if she didn’t exist, I’d quit reading after the first book. She has a great vibe and she’s naturally hilarious. And I think she’s one of the best sidekicks (or best friends) I’ve ever read in YA. Good job, Becca.

I’m still amazed by Fitzpatrick’s ability to write a good thriller. I did not see that ending coming. And Rixon, man, I have been fooled once again. *slow claps* I’m still a bit lost on the whole angelic warfare and such. I want to see more in-depth explanations and history.

Overall, I enjoyed this read. Crescendo fared a tad bit better than its predecessor though it’s no great succession.

4 stars

2 thoughts on “Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

