Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

15717943

 Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Publication: May 7th 2013 by Atria Books

Format: eBook, 488 pages

Genres: New Adult, Romance

Goodreads / The Book DepositoryAmazon

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

My Review.

When I first heard about Hopeless, I was taken aback by the insane number of high ratings and positive reviews on Goodreads. It has to mean that this book is amazing if it could draw that much feedback. I finished this book in a span of 2 days. Here are my thoughts.

I thought the story was soap opera-ish.

I wouldn’t be surprised if this book actually gets adapted to primetime television. There’s a lot of good drama happening in here; secrets that were kept for years and years, shocking revelations, and a few unexpected twists and turns along the way. For the most part, I really liked it. Colleen Hoover’s writing shines here. She’s able to deliver a well-thought of screenplay.

The characters’ story arcs were well-crafted.

I really liked how each character’s backstory was developed, and in the end, how it climaxed. Sky’s arc in particular was simply heartbreaking. While I was reading the icky moments of her childhood, I cannot believe the fact that this child experienced all those terrible things. That she went through all that shit and she still managed to stand up and mature into a brave and beautiful young woman.

I also really liked how Karen and Holder’s story arc played into Sky’s. All the loose knots tied up nicely at the end.

There were a lot of eye-roll and overtly cheesy moments.

Ugh. I think that sentence is pretty much self-explanatory. There were some scenes with Sky and Holder that were supposed to be charming and sweet, but it came off as ‘meh’ or corny to me. And that ‘I live you’ thing? Really? -_-

Also, there seems to be a ton of kissing going on? Like in every single paragraph? It was tiresome and bothersome. Oh and the phrase, “He kissed my head,”. WHAT’S SO SPECIAL ABOUT HER HEAD THAT YOU LIKE IT SO MUCH HOLDER. It was annoying and repetitive.

It was definitely love at first sight between Sky and Holder.

I don’t like the fact that Sky’s guard went down after meeting Holder. I mean, she just said that she doesn’t feel any attraction towards the male population. So Holder’s the big exception? I honestly don’t get it. What made him so special among the other boys?

I wanted a bit more time development between them. Maybe a few more meetings before actually begging him to kiss you? Speaking of which, that bit about the Best First Kiss thing whatever, I thought that was a bit ridiculous. Who does that really?

Overall, I kind of enjoyed this read. I guess the more positive traits of this novel outweighed the negatives. I was just hooked with the storyline okay, even though it was predictable to say the least. I would’ve wanted more suspense and less hints given throughout the story. I really can’t think of anything else to say without giving away spoilers. You just have to read it for yourself to find out.

3.5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

