Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi

Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi

Publication: January 28th 2014 by HarperCollins

Format: Paperback, 389 pages

Source: Own, bought from National Book Store

Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction

Goodreads / The Book DepositoryAmazon

The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate. Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do–and they are just as determined to stay together.

Within the confines of a cave they’re using as a makeshift refuge, they struggle to reconcile their people, Dwellers and Outsiders, who are united only in their hatred of their desperate situation. Meanwhile, time is running out to rescue Cinder, who was abducted by Hess and Sable for his unique abilities. Then Roar arrives in a grief-stricken fury, endangering all with his need for revenge.

Out of options, Perry and Aria assemble an unlikely team for an impossible rescue mission. Cinder isn’t just the key to unlocking the Still Blue and their only hope for survival–he’s also their friend. And in a dying world, the bonds between people are what matter most.

In this final book in her earth-shattering Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi raises the stakes to their absolute limit and brings her epic love story to an unforgettable close.

My Review.

After months and months of waiting, I finally read Into the Still Blue. It was thrill ride of sorts. No lack of intense and escalating action here, folks. It was a great and satisfying conclusion. Thank you, Miss Veronica, for sharing your words and imagination to us readers.

Be warned though that this is the last book in the series. Spoilers cannot be avoided. But I really recommend this series if you enjoy dystopian novels, you can check out my review for the first book here.

What I loved about this series is its diverse set of characters. They all have unique personalities, standards, and mindsets. It’s amazing how they managed to call off their differences and form a united tribe. I think Soren’s character development was my favourite. He started off as this arrogant and hostile character who despises Savages, Peregrine in particular. Eventually, he mellowed out and became more comfortable with them. There’s also a blossoming romance between him and Laurel, or should I say Brooke? That scene made me laugh so freaking hard. 😄

Another character I want to talk about is Roar. After Liv’s death, he became unreachable and he was seething with anger and bitterness. I was taken aback because I was so used to his sunny and sarcastic personality. His attitude proved to be a disadvantage though as they were captured by Hess and Sable’s force because of his recklessness. But thank goodness for Aria. She seems to be only one who can put up with Roar’s crap. There was some point in the story that I actually almost shipped them??

Into the Still Blue was no short of gripping action sequences. My favourite action-packed scene would have to go to the latter part of the novel where Perry (finally) slew Sable. I thought that was soooo freaking intense and A-W-E-S-O-M-E! Sable really angered the heck out of me. Kudos to Miss Rossi for crafting such an amazing antagonist.

Of course, being the last book in a series, there was also no short of casualties. We lost Reef and Gren. And Hess which was terribly shocking. I was beginning to see a new light in his character. And the most heart wrenching of them all? CINDER. That poor guy 😦 I need a few more days to accept his death and maybe just maybe I can move on…or not.

The biggest shock for me was when we found out who Aria’s father is: LORAN. Yes, that’s right. He’s the dude that Liv trained with in Through the Ever Night. I did not see that coming at all. But I don’t like how they treat each other after this revelation. Only at the end did we see them start to make up. I would’ve wanted to see it earlier on.

Overall, this was a fantastic close to a spectacular series. It had me screaming and gripping any object at arm’s length. Once again, thank you Miss Veronica Rossi. I won’t forget this spellbinding journey into the Still Blue.

5 stars

Leave a Reply

