Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Publication: March 5th 2013 by HarperCollins

Format: Paperback, 391 pages

Source: Own, bought from National Book Store

Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian

Goodreads / The Book DepositoryAmazon

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor.

My Review.

*This is the last book in a series. Be warned that there are some spoilers.

My biggest problem when it comes to the last book in a series is how I’d react with the ending. Will all the loose ends tie up perfectly? Or will it all end up in crazy knots? For Requiem, the ends were tied up, but it wasn’t tight enough for me.

After that infinitely shocking ending in Pandemonium, I was a bit anxious with Requiem. We find out that Alex is alive and in one piece. Other than that, he’s completely redid his attitude. He was this bitter and unfeeling character now. And I really don’t know how this insane love triangle is going to resolve itself at the end. I’ll talk about this more at the end where I’ll be discussing more of my conflicted feelings.

First, I want to express my love for Lauren Oliver’s writing. It’s just simply beautiful. Her prose is lovely, her descriptions are spot-on. I think that’s the main reason why I enjoyed this series so much. It was well-written. I can’t think of any other author that can do this series justice than Oliver. She was born to write poetic and tragic love stories. I also think the dual-perspective was a smart move. I was thinking that I might not enjoy an entire novel with Lena bickering on and on about Alex and her conquests with the Invalids.

Reading about Hana and how the cure completely changed her mindset sliced through my heart. Gone was the rebellious and exuberant girl we once knew. But I was glad that deep down, she’s fighting the cure. There’s still some spark left in her. I was more than ecstatic when she persuaded Fred to stay in their house where a bomb is about to explode. I thought that was a classic Hana move on her part. But I wished she slapped Fred before escaping the house. That dude really irritated me.

The scene where Lena and her mom unite was just lovely. I thought that scene was written beautifully all thanks to Oliver’s knack for words. It was a really emotional moment for both characters (and for me too). I’m glad Lena welcomed her mother willingly. For a minute there I thought there was going to be another fight that’s going to brew. But there wasn’t enough time for them to bond properly, in my opinion. I also wanted to know more about Lena’s father.

Another character I want to talk about is Raven. Although I was already spoiled about her death, just reading how it happened broke my heart. And Tack’s reaction was just. I don’t even know what to say. She was a smart and excellent leader. I know that all of her efforts were not in vain.

Lastly, I want to talk about the ending. Prior to reading Requiem, I’ve already heard a lot of mixed reviews mostly about how it concluded. How open-ended it was and seemingly without any some sort of resolve. And I agree. I wasn’t that satisfied with the conclusion. It was mentioned that the Invalids had taken down the walls and they were obviously rejoicing. But it doesn’t end there, does it? Sure, they managed to overthrow the enemy but is the war really over? Did they win? I guess it’s sort of implied.

And then there’s this love triangle like I mentioned above. I think it’s a bit obvious that Lena would pick Alex at the end. Yes, I’m happy that they finally made up and kissed and whatever, but what about the other side of the triangle? What about Julian? How will Lena possibly break his heart? I need to know more. But then I read this one passage that struck me.

But it’s not about knowing. It is simply about going forward.

In some sort of way, I’m happy with how this amazing series ended. I have to say, it was kind of artistic. But as Lena said, it is simply about going forward. And maybe we don’t really know what happened with this group of people, fighting for freedom. Fighting for a new system. Fighting for love. But one thing’s for sure: they took down the walls, and that’s one step forward into a new dawn.

4.5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

