Will The Real Abi Saunders Please Stand Up? by Sara Hantz

Will The Real Abi Saunders Please Stand Up? by Sara Hantz

Publication: May 6th 2014 by Entangled Teen

Format: eARC, 320 pages

Source: Received from Netgalley

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Goodreads / AuthorAmazon

Abi Saunders might be a kickboxing champion, but when it comes to being the center of attention, she’d rather take a roundhouse kick to the solar plexus any day. So when her trainer convinces her to audition to be the stunt double for hot teen starlet Tilly Watson, Abi is shocked—and a little freaked out—when she gets the job.

Being a stunt double is overwhelming, but once the wig and makeup are on, Abi feels like a different person. Tilly Watson, to be exact. And when Tilly’s gorgeous boyfriend, Jon, mistakes Abi for the real star, Abi’s completely smitten. In fact, she’s so in love with her new life, it isn’t long before she doesn’t have time for her old one.

But when the cameras are turned off, will she discover running with the Hollywood A-list isn’t quite the glamorous existence she thought it was?

My Review.

I had high expectations for this book. The plot sounded interesting. It sounded really fun and light. Needless to say, I did enjoy reading this. But it didn’t quite meet all of my expectations.

My biggest problem with the novel is the main character: Abi Saunders. For the first few chapters, I really liked her. I thought that she was kickass because of her top-notch kickboxing skills. I thought she was really charming. But later we find out she’s so insecure. And that didn’t end there. Her insecurities stretched until almost the end of book. It was irritating and kind of depressing, at least for her. Don’t you at least have something nice to say about yourself?

When we get to the part where she was hired as a stunt double for Tilly Watson, she started going downhill. She makes this foolish decision to attend a club party with her movie crew instead of her best friend’s pool party. And the excuses she makes is just too much. It seems like the fame is getting to her. Now, I understand she’s a flawed character. It’s part of her character development. But there were times when I could just strangle her for her stupidity.

*inhale* *exhale*

And then there’s this tedious I’m-in-love-with-my-best-friend situation going on. I honestly wasn’t expecting that. Anyway, I thought the romance in here was bland. If Matt really has feelings for Abi then why can’t you express it? Before we actually find that out, Matt’s being monotone towards Abi. She describes him as having no sort of reaction when the situation seems flattering or blush-worthy. He wasn’t even giving any signals that indicates his true feelings for her. So when he confessed to Abi about her being the only girl suit for him, I really find it hard to believe.

Onto the more positive aspects of the novel, I think Abi’s character development deserves a few claps here and there. She finally woke up from fame and discerned the ugly from the lovely. *coughs Jon* I really love the confrontation between Abi and Jon. I thought the wig thing was hilarious and the paparazzi’s gaping reaction. Job well done, Abi.

I also really liked Tilly Watson’s character development. But I still have this nagging feeling that she’s being plastic? I don’t know. And can I say that the title of this novel is absolutely clever? I am in love with it though the positioning of the words on the model seem, um, weird and awkward?

Overall, I was disappointed with this read. It came up a bit short. But I do plan on checking out some of Sara Hantz’s other works in the future. I really think she’s an author-to-watch.

2.5 stars

 

*An ARC was given in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

