Mini Movie Reviews!

posters galore

Hey guys! So for today I decided to mini-reviews on some of the movies that I’ve watched this past week. The initial plan was to marathon some of Michael Fassbender’s notable films. Without further ado, here are my thoughts!

Shame

Directed by: Steve McQueen

Starring: Michael Fassbender, Carey Mulligan

Just a forewarning, this film is pretty graphic. All I can say is, looking beyond that graphicness, I appreciate and understand what the film was trying to convey. Everyone has their hands on unhealthy addictions. I got that from a friend on Twitter, actually. So thank you, friend!

Also, Fassbender deserves a lot of recognition because of those things he did. I mean, he literally went to the next level of acting.

Jane Eyre

Directed by: Cary Joji Fukunaga

Starring: Mia Wasikowska, Michael Fassbender, Judi Dench, Jamie Bell

All I can say is: ALL. THE. DAMN. FEELS. I have not read the original source material, but after watching its adaptation it only fuelled my need to read this beloved classic. Every actor delivered their respective roles with reserved praise to Wasikowska and Fassbender. I really loved the dynamic between them.

Fish Tank

Directed by: Andrea Arnold

Starring: Katie Jarvis, Kierston Warenig, Michael Fassbender

I thought this movie was powerful and raw. I’m amazed by the talent and emotion newcomer Katie Jarvis evokes. I thought the different themes like family, poverty, and peer-influence were thoroughly explored in this film. And the cinematography is excellent. But the movie started a bit shaky and misguided.

The Kings of Summer

Directed by: Jordan Vogt-Roberts

Starring: Nick Robinson, Moises Arias, Gabriel Basso

This is probably one of my all-time favourite films if not my all-time favourite film. I actually related with the movie. I understood the boys’ emotions here even though I haven’t camped out in a forest. I also love the humour and how light-hearted it all was. Highly recommend this film.

That’s it! Have you watched any of these films? I might be doing more of these mini-reviews in the future so keep an eye out. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Mini Movie Reviews!

Leave a Reply

