Top Ten Books If You Like X

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the awesome people over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s theme is about the books you might like if you enjoy movies. I just recently started binge movie-watching so here’s hoping I give out some good recommendations along the way.

You can also do TV shows, plays, or any sort of entertainment.

1. If you like action movies, then you should read Legend by Marie Lu

– This book is just full of awesome action sequences and it’s literally like a movie playing through your mind.

2. If you like the movie Leap Year, then you should read If Only by A.J. Pine

– If you’ve watched Leap Year — starring Amy Adams and Matthew Goode — then you might want to check out this lovely novel. The setting also takes place in Europe. And it’s just a charming read overall.

3. If you like vampire movies or a better version of Twilight, then you should read Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

– Kickass vamps? Check. Sizzling romance? Check. Cheesy dialogue and plot situations? Nope, nothing here.

4. If you like period dramas, then you should read The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

– Ball gowns and lots of London references? Yep. JUST GO READ THIS SERIES.

5. If you like the movie Black Swan, then you should read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

– I have a post regarding my thoughts on this book and its adaptation, so if you want to check that out click here.

6. If you like science-fiction movies, then you should read Across the Universe by Beth Revis

– Highly recommend this series if you like movies that are set in outer space or anything sci-fi.

7. If you like chick flicks, then you should read Shut Out by Kody Keplinger

– I’ll let the book explain itself for ya.

8. If you like dramas with crazy plot twists, then you should read Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

– Get ready for the tears. Prepare your tissue boxes.

9. If you like romantic comedies, then you should read all of Stephanie Perkins books

– Seriously. Click here and here and also here for more info about these charming and lovely reads to satisfy your rom-com filled hearts.

10. If you like indie films or The Social Network, then you should read Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

– The quirkiness of this novel reminds me of indie films in general and how they’re unique and unexpected. Same goes for the main character and Jesse Eisenberg in The Social Network.

What would you recommend to someone who likes movies? Or maybe someone who watches a lot of television shows?

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books If You Like X

  1. YES! Legend is on my list as well. And Vampire Academy, ha! ❤ I really love Across the Universe as well. And Stephanie Perkins! I'll have to check the others out. 🙂

  2. Legend was quite interesting. Definitely high on the action ration. 😉 haha! I LOVE action movies. And I haven’t read Shut Out yet, but Kody Keplinger is a fantastic author. LOVE The Duff! 🙂 My TTT!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s