Psi Another Day by D.R. Rosensteel

Psi Another Day by D.R. Rosensteel

Publication: May 6th 2014 by Entangled Teen

Format: eARC, 352 pages

Source: Received from Netgalley

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery

Goodreads / Author / Amazon

When Rinnie Noelle, Greensburg’s youngest masked crime-fighter, totally botches her first mission and lets a frightening stalker escape, she is reassigned to protect her high school from arch-nemesis Mason Draudimon, a bully who has picked on her since fifth grade. The thought bores her to death. She could easily dust the lockers with his face, and that would be fun, but it would also give away the secret of her true identity. Suddenly the assignment takes on a whole new meaning when Rinnie discovers that the school has become a hunting ground, and she is the prey. The Walpurgis Knights, a mysterious group of supervillains who murdered her parents when she was six, have dispatched an apprentice to find her. The good news is, he doesn’t know her true identity. The bad news is, she doesn’t know his, either. But Mason is the link to finding him.

Aided by an oddly shaped, politically imperfect band of outcasts, Rinnie searches the high school for the elusive apprentice. When the stalker returns to take a little girl from the elementary school, Rinnie has to choose between rescuing the girl and uncovering the identity of the apprentice. In an unpredictable game of deception, she learns that the Walpurgis Knights, the kidnapper, and Mason are all tied irrevocably to the man who murdered her parents. 

Rinnie takes her Mental Arts skills to their limits in her first battle against the evil Walpurgis Knights.

My Review.

Awesome/kickass main character? Check. High-tech and totally wicked technology? Check. Fighting bad guys using your own thoughts? Che–wait what??

tumblr_n3gqfz5O4Y1tti72eo3_250

Rinnie Noelle is a Psi Fighter. Other than having super human strength, these Psi Fighters channel their thoughts to form different weapons imaginable. I thought that was wickedly cool and I found myself geeking out a bit. Master Kilodan make me your apprentice, please. I want to know the ways of a Psi Fighter and the art of Mental Arts.

Going back to Rinnie, I really liked her! She had a very likeable personality and for once a main character didn’t annoy the heck out of me. She’s also kickass and full of spunk. I love how she handles situations carefully and I think that’s her most admirable trait. I also really liked her relationship with Andy. Their banter is simply hilarious and the best. Speaking of Andy, I thought he was pretty hilarious throughout the novel. He seems to take every situation lightheartedly, but he does show some seriousness. He kind of reminds me of Kenji from the Shatter Me series.

Another character I liked is Rinnie’s best friend, Kathryn. I thought she was the most unconventional Miss Popular ever. She shuns the cool crew and her numerous jock-y suitors. Instead she enjoys the company of Rinnie who is the exact opposite of her when it comes to social standings. And her sass is simply delightful.

I’m going to say it to you now: there’s a love triangle here. And it was sort of lame for me. I was actually looking for more romance here, but due to the crazy stuff that’s happening, it seems unlikely. Let’s talk about our first candidate, shall we? We have Mason. He likes bullying Rinnie until one fateful day he seems to have “softened” up to her. And then we have Egon. The mysterious and charming boy who giggles. Yes ladies, you read that right. He freaking giggles. Of course, you’ll have to read to see who Rinnie chose.

As for the plot, it was really engaging even though I predicted most of what’s going to happen. I love how this book explores themes of bullying and standing up for yourself.

The ending really caught me off guard though. I totally wasn’t expecting it. By the time I finished reading, I was gasping. JUST GIVE ME THE SECOND BOOK ALREADY.

tumblr_m6e44hM18v1ryj6qoo1_400

5 stars

 

*An ARC was given in exchange for an honest review.

**I must thank Hawwa at It Was Lovely Reading You for inspiring me to use gifs! I’m really going to make it a habit to incorporate them in my posts now 🙂

Leave a Reply

