Red at Night by Katie McGarry + You Are Here by Liz Fichera

Red at Night by Katie McGarry (Part of the Harlequin More than Words series)

Publication: April 1st 2014 by Harlequin Special Releases

Format: eBook, 84 pages

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Add to Goodreads | Download for Free 

In Red at Night, Stella and Jonah are total opposites. She’s the girl with purple hair from the wrong part of town. He’s a high school senior who hangs with the cool crowd. Until a car accident leaves him haunted by guilt, and Jonah starts spending time at Stella’s favorite refuge…the local cemetery.

Stella knows she should keep her distance—after all, she spent her girlhood being bullied by Jonah’s friends. Once he’s sorted out his tangled emotions, Jonah won’t have time for her anymore. Too bad she’s already fallen for him.

My Review.

I really liked this one. It’s a careful exploration of how change is inevitable yet is possible.

I like our main characters, Stella and Jonah. I identified with them easily. Because this is a short story, everything seems to be rushed at some point. I feel like their relationship escalated a bit quickly. 

Nevertheless, I like the mood the novel sets up. I really liked the first chapter in the cemetery. I think that was a nice little detail.

Lastly, I thought the writing was beautiful. There’s something about Katie’s writing that draws me in. Really looking forward in checking out her other work.

5 stars

18808860You Are Here by Liz Fichera (Part of the Harlequin More than Words series)

Publication: April 1st 2014 by Harlequin Special Releases

Format: eBook, 73 pages

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Add to Goodreads | Download for Free 

In You Are Here, sixteen-year-old Jennifer Whitman wishes she could just disappear. After her father’s death, her family lost everything, including their home and comfortable way of life. With the help of a local charity, they’ve relocated to downtown Phoenix. But Jenn has unfinished business back in Paradise Valley.

Sixty-six days ago, Jenn fell in love with seventeen-year-old cowboy William Finnigan…and then he shattered her heart. She’s been avoiding him ever since. But if Jenn wants to reclaim her beloved horse, she’ll have to stop running. Jenn needs to face Finn one last time so she can put her past behind her and truly start over.

My Review.

I loved the message this novella was trying to convey. It was so powerful and full of impact that I found myself pondering about my own life situation. I was filled with these strong emotions, and I sympathised with our main character Jenn.

As for the romance, it was pretty okay for me. I thought the plot itself was going to revolve around that aspect so I was surprised when that wasn’t the case. For me, I would’ve wanted to see more interaction between Jenn and Finn.

Overall, I really liked this novella. And I badly want to check out some of Liz’s other work.

3.5 stars

2 thoughts on “Red at Night by Katie McGarry + You Are Here by Liz Fichera

  1. I just downloaded You Are Here. I didn’t know it was free. 😛 I haven’t read from both authors, even though I have one or two of their books. I’ve seeing them around though. I’m glad you liked these. Novellas do have the tendency to be rushed.

Leave a Reply

