Altered by Jennifer Rush

Altered by Jennifer Rush

Publication: January 1st 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Format: Paperback, 352 pages

Source: Own, bought from Fullybooked

Genres: Young Adult, Science-fiction

Goodreads / The Book DepositoryAmazon

They were made to forget. But they’ll never forgive.

Everything about Anna’s life is a secret. Her father works for the Branch, at the helm of its latest project: monitoring and administering treatments to the four genetically altered boys in the lab below their farmhouse. There’s Nick, solemn and brooding; Cas, light-hearted and playful; Trev, smart and caring; and Sam . . . who’s stolen Anna’s heart.

When the Branch decides it’s time to take the boys, Sam stages an escape. Anna’s father pushes her to go with them, making Sam promise to keep her away from the Branch, at all costs
On the run, with her father’s warning in her head, Anna begins to doubt everything she thought she knew about herself. She soon discovers that she and Sam are connected in more ways than either of them expected. And if they’re both going to survive, they must piece together the clues of their past before the Branch catches up to them and steals it all away.

My Review.

I’ve heard nothing but raves and praises for this book so I was expecting it’ll live up to its hype. And surprisingly so, it did.

Altered was thoroughly engaging. From the moment I started reading the first chapter, I knew I was going to have a hard time setting this book down. The plot flowed smoothly and effortlessly so. It kept me guessing and formulating possible theories about this and that. The writing was very straightforward; it wasn’t flowery. I think that’s one of the main reasons why I couldn’t stop reading. And overall, it was just intriguing.

love the characters in this novel especially the boys. Their contrasting personalities was fun to read about. I thought their character development was excellently written particularly Nick’s character. He’s slowly showing signs of surrender and openness. And then we have our main character, Anna. I’d say she’s a strong and purposeful character. But my only problem with her is that she’s too invested with Sam. It’s like she’s needs his approval for everything she does. I know it’s because she harbours strong feelings for him, obviously.

A lot of people are saying that Altered is full of twists, and it’s true. They were shockingly unexpected rather than ridiculously predictable. I was glad a book made me ponder for once.

As for the romance, it was cute. I initially thought of Sam as a jerkface (sorry Sam) because of the way he acts around Anna. Other than that, their relationship wasn’t annoying and it didn’t interfere with the plot. Also, am I the only one who’s seeing a possible love triangle forming? Although the idea seems unlikely, I like entertaining its possibility. I mean, Nick could use some of your love, Anna.

I’m really glad there’s a sequel to look forward to, what with the way things ended in Altered. Hopefully it won’t disappoint.

5 stars

 

6 thoughts on “Altered by Jennifer Rush

  1. This is actually the first I’ve heard of this book. Or maybe I had ignored it in the past. 😛 But I’m glad you liked it. And now I’m quite interested. But I’m not sure yet. Is this part of a series or something?

  2. Great review! I’m glad you could live up to the hype….I mean there really have been nothing but praises for the book! Now I feel like I’m the only one who hasn’t read the book yet 😀

  3. I agree with you 100%! And your theory on a possible love triangle with Nick? I didn’t even think about that but I think I’d actually love it. I feel really bad for his background story, and you’re right–he definitely needs some love in his life. We’ll have to see in Erased how the story continues to unfold!

Leave a Reply

