What If It’s a Movie? – A List of Classics

What If It’s a Movie? is a new feature I’ll be doing occasionally on the blog wherein I’ll be talking about two things I love: film and books. As the title says, I’m going to be choosing a book that I think would turn out great as a movie and other things such as castings, directors, and my overall thoughts.

So for today, I decided to mix things up a bit and create a list of classics that I would love to see adapted into modern film someday.

18051146Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

This is one of my all-time favourite classics. I know there’ve been numerous adaptations for this beloved classic, but it’s such a long time ago. I want to see a modern take on it. I think Willow Shields would make a great Anne Shirley.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde15804129
There’s been an adaptation of this classic back in 2009, but it didn’t receive that much hype or positive reviews. I would really like to see Darren Aronofsky direct this. I think he’s the perfect man to direct this haunting tale.

 

6606279

1984 by George Orwell
I feel like I don’t need to explain myself here. This is the classic that revolutionised the dystopian genre. And with all the high-tech technology in the now, I’m surprised nobody has tackled classic yet.

 

401608The Diary of A Young Girl by Anne Frank
Again, another surprise here. Biopics seem to be the trend these days in Hollywood so why not opt for this deeply-moving WWII account? The young and talented Hailee Steinfield is my cast for Anne. I think she’s a brilliant actress and has enough of that youthful wit inside of her.

 

1953A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

desperately want Tom Hooper (Les Miserables) to direct this! That is all.

 

 

What classics do you want to be adapted into modern film?

2 thoughts on “What If It’s a Movie? – A List of Classics

  1. I used to watch an anime adaptation of Anne of Green Gables. It used to be aired in ABSCBN and it’s actually good.
    I would be interested to watch 1984 and Anne Frank too!

Leave a Reply

