Top Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the awesome people over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s theme is about the books I almost put down but didn’t. Oh man, this is going to be a bit hard. I don’t normally put down books. I just power through them hoping the plot gets better.

Anyhow, let’s see what I can find.

1. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

–  Not putting down this book has been one of the best decisions in my life. A lot of people say that the world building is too vast or the writing is too deep, but that’s one of the reasons why this series in general is so awesome! You just need patience, brah.

2. Blood Orange Soda by James Michael Larranaga 

– I wasn’t feeling the storyline that’s why I set this book down multiple times. But in the end, I managed to finish it and I really liked it.

3. Silas Marner by George Eliot

– This was one of the books for our required reading (ugh) in English class. Thank God I had enough patience to finish this and I got a near perfect score in our oral defence. *fist pumps*

4. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

– The writing style was very hard to decipher so for the most part, I had trouble understanding what the book was trying to convey. But I read it and the ending was just beautiful. *wipes tear*

5. The Fifth Mountain by Paulo Coelho

– Another book that I’m glad I didn’t put down. I loved all the themes surrounding this novel.

6. Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin

– Much like Daughter of Smoke & Bone too.

7. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

– Ugh. This book was both a struggle and a miracle. The struggle being all the science-y talk about genetics and whatnot and the miracle — me finishing this book. Huzzah.

8. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

– Annoying main character. Cheesy romance. Not my cup of tea but I’m glad I finished it. I’m now even more interested to read the sequels.

9. Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

– Wasn’t a fan of R’s voice (although I like movie R better) here. It was boring for the most part.

10. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

– This book dragged on and on and on and on. The ending was fantastic though.

Bonus:

11. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

– I honestly don’t like Charlie’s narration/voice.

What books did you almost put down but didn’t?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

  1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is on my list too! I’m glad I read the book.

    I agree with you on The Secret Garden. I found it dull at certain parts but the ending was great. And the quotes were memorable and inspiring, especially Colin’s exclamation of wanting to live forever and ever! 🙂

    I have Beautiful Creatures but haven’t read it yet. Looking forward to it though.

    Josette
    Books Love Me

  2. Daughter of Smoke and Bone looks really good! I’ve heard that it’s hard to get into at first but that it’s worth it. And I completely agree about Beautiful Creatures – it’s a slow book but the ending is awesome!

Leave a Reply

