Mini Movie Reviews! THE SEQUEL.

I’m back with another series of movie reviews for you guys! I watched two adaptations of a classic Shakespeare play (which I thoroughly loved) and then yesterday, I watched a horror flick with my friend. I must be rambling again. Anyway, movie reviews!

Much Ado About Nothing (1993)

Directed by: Kenneth Branagh

Starring: Kenneth Branagh, Emma Thompson, Robert Sean Leonard, Kate Beckinsale, Richard Briers, Denzel Washington, Keanu Reeves, Michael Keaton

I absolutely adore this adaptation. Emma Thompson delivered Beatrice’s character with much brio and her undeniably charming chemistry with Kenneth Branagh is just. I also adore the setting, and I think the casting was perfect.

Much Ado About Nothing (2012)

Directed by: Joss Whedon

Starring: Alexis Denisof, Amy Acker, Fran Kranz, Jillian Morgese, Clark Gregg, Reed Diamond, Sean Maher, Nathan Fillion

I like how Whedon thinks about out-of-the-box. He switched up some roles, modernised the setting and costume and everything, and surprisingly, it works. I must say though that I felt some of the characters were quite dull particularly with the leads. There was also a lot of alcohol being passed around? Other than that, the cinematography was brilliant and I also love that it’s in black and white.

I Declare War (2012)

Directed by: Jason Lapeyre and Robert Wilson

Starring: Siam Yu, Gage Monroe, Michael Friend, Aidan Gouveia, Mackenzie Munro

This film is completely absurd — and not the good kind. I liked the idea of playing war in the forest, but the way these kids acted really bothered me. And were those real firearms? Anyway, I did like the action for the most part.

The Spectacular Now (2013)

Directed by: James Ponsoldt

Starring: Miles Teller, Shailene Woodley

I loved single nook and cranny of this film. From the directing to the score to the cast — EVERYTHING. The natural chemistry between Teller and Woodley is spectacular. I also think this is one of Woodley’s more genuine and stripped down roles to date. I’m a bit unsatisfied with the ending though.

Oculus (2014)

Directed by: Mike Flanagan

Starring: Karen Gillan, Brenton Thwaites, Rory Cochrane, Katee Stockhoff

Easily one of the best movies I have ever seen, and also one of the creepiest films I’ve ever seen. The hallucinations were pretty crazy and I found myself squirming every single time. I love the lead actors especially Karen Gillan. She was just fabulous. And with the way things ended, it seems like this is going to be a franchise of some sort which I’m so stoked about.

3 thoughts on “Mini Movie Reviews! THE SEQUEL.

  1. I love the 1993 Much Ado About Nothing too. When Robert Sean Leonard cries when he is told Hero is dead…. aaah! Really want to watch The Spectacular Now but it doesn’t seem to be available in the UK yet.

  2. I Declare War, I think is more magical realism. Remember the part where a boy found a branch and said it could be a bazooka, then it turned into a bazooka? It was a really absurd film, but I liked it!

Leave a Reply

