City of Glass by Cassandra Clare + Lies by Michael Grant

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Publication: March 24th 2009 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

Format: Paperback, 541 pages

Source: Own, bought from National Bookstore

Genres: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

Goodreads / The Book Depository / Amazon

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

My Review.

Cassandra Clare continues to impress me with her magical way of fine storytelling and captivating world-building. If I had to choose which fictional world to reside in, it’s definitely going to be the Shadowhunter world.

I’ve heard a lot of people say that this is their favourite Mortal Instruments book yet. And I wholeheartedly agree. The first two books were like appetisers; they prepare you for the rich and delicious main course. And once you grow accustomed to this vast, exciting, and fantastical world: there’s no turning back.

City of Glass was full of everything I love about YA literature. From the heart-stopping action to the bloody revelations/plot twists, and the romance. I admit, I’m a hardcore Clace shipper. Everything was executed perfectly and not one chapter made me bored. There was always something happening and if not, I was pondering about this and that in my head.

If you still have doubts about reading this series, I urge to go pick it up. These stories Clare has crafted are not to miss.

5 stars

Lies by Michael Grant

Publication: May 4th 2010 by HarperCollins

Format: Paperback, 447 pages

Source: Own, bought from National Bookstore

Genres: Young Adult, Science-fiction

Goodreads / The Book Depository / Amazon

It’s been seven months since all the adults disappeared. Gone.

It happens in one night. A girl who died now walks among the living; Zil and the Human Crew set fire to Perdido Beach; and amid the flames and smoke, Sam sees the figure of the boy he fears the most: Drake. But Drake is dead. Sam and Caine defeated him along with the Darkness—or so they thought.

As Perdido Beach burns, battles rage: Astrid against the Town Council; the Human Crew versus the mutants; and Sam against Drake, who is back from the dead and ready to finish where he and Sam left off. And all the while deadly rumors are raging like the fire itself, spread by the prophetess Orsay and her companion, Nerezza. They say that death is a way to escape the FAYZ. Conditions are worse than ever and kids are desperate to get out. But are they desperate enough to believe that death will set them free?

My Review.

So I decided to shake things up a bit for this review. I’ve noticed that I can’t seem to form any coherent thoughts for this book, and I think the secret power of GIFs might be more appropriate. Without further ado, here’s my first-ever GIF book review. Hope y’all like it (or not ha).

At the beginning of the novel, this was pretty much me.

kim-kardashian-bored

And then something unexpected happened. I’m not going to say what it is, so I won’t ruin any surprises. 😉

Which led to one unexpected thing to another unexpected thing. I tell ya, this book messes with your mind and puts you to the edge.

Brenda-Meeks-Scared-Popcorn-Gif-In-Scary-Movie

Oh, and Sam and Astrid broke up along the way.

giphy

Little Pete disabled the FAYZ wall for a moment and Astrid saw the adults.

tumblr_m0yineEyTM1qhjht6o1_400

Of course, Lies was not short of the awesome and kickass action.

Daniel_Bryan_YES

Here’s my reaction after finishing the book.

tumblr_mnqsgrrT441rm146oo1_500

There was certainly a lot going on and I needed to know what’s going to happen with the FAYZ and its characters. Good thing I already have Plague in my hands.

And there you have it! Hope you enjoyed that little GIF fiesta/review. I might do this more often in the near future. 😀

4.5 stars

6 thoughts on “City of Glass by Cassandra Clare + Lies by Michael Grant

  1. I loved the first three Mortal Instruments books, but 4 and 5 went downhill for me. 😦 I think 3 books would’ve been enough for this series. It actually irks me that the author will be writing MORE books in the Shadowhunter world. I should stop ruining your fun with my negativity, haha!

    So curious about the Gone series! Glad to know Lies was action-pact and full of feels. 😉

  2. City of Glass was my favorite of the TMI series so far. It think it would have been better left as a trilogy. But great review!! And the Gone series is another great one. I totally marathoner the first 4 books but I have yet to read the last one. Nice reviews! 🙂

  3. I loooooved City of Glass. I thought it tied together everything I loved from the first two books so well. Great review, and I agree with you that this is a great work of YA fiction!

Leave a Reply

