Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Publication: July 31st 2012 by Harlequin Teen

Series: Pushing the Limits #1

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Add to Goodreads | The Book Depository

So wrong for each other…and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. 

But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible. 

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

My Review.

I’ve been on a contemporary kick as of late so I decided to finally pick up a Katie McGarry novel. I’ll keep this review short, once again. Pushing the Limits may seem like another one of those good girl falls in love with the bad boy cliches — and in some aspects, it is — but it’s a cliche done right, if you ask me.

I should probably warn you that this book covers a lot of serious and heavy issues. So don’t be surprised if you find some of the words dripping with angst.

What I loved about Pushing the Limits is its deep exploration of different relationships. From family to friendships to siblings, and it was all executed well. One relationship that touched my heart was Noah’s and his little brothers. I almost cried because of how I can relate with his story — well, minus the tragedies anyway. I have little brothers of my own so I kind of connected with Noah on an emotional, older-brotherly level.

As for the relationship between Echo and Noah, all I can say is that it was pretty well-developed. Like I said, there are so many relationships covered in this novel so the romance isn’t exactly rushed from the start although the initial attraction is there. They heal each other, and they understand the other’s situation.

This is a strong debut for Katie McGarry. Her writing can be likened to Gayle Forman’s as both authors have powerful and poignant voices that capture the reader’s heart. And I don’t know why I haven’t read her books sooner. I’m definitely going to check out the other books in this series.

4 stars

4 thoughts on “Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

  1. lovely review.

    The relationships of the story have to be my favourite too. And as much as I love Echo, Noah’s and his little brothers relationship is the one for me in the book. Just wish it would have been made into a series haha. I know that there are others about some of the sub characters but I need more Noah :(.

    Like I said, great review.
    you have a now follower 🙂

Leave a Reply

