Rereading Books

let's talk aboutI’m not a fan of rereading books. Instead of reading the entire book itself, I like to flip through the chapters or scenes that I thoroughly enjoyed. But I won’t read the book again.

One of the reasons why I don’t like rereading is because it gets too repetitive for me. Okay, so I went through this reading journey, it may have brought me sleepless nights or squirming scenarios, but would I want to go through all of that again? Hmmmm, probably not. 

Another thing: rarely have I encountered a book that makes me want to read it again. There are lots of series out there that I truly love like The Hunger Games or Divergent. But every time I pick them up for a reread, I just end up putting the them back down. I’m so familiar with those stories that I don’t get any thrills anymore. And I think that’s a pivotal role in determining whether I’ll reread a book or not. (Still love those books though)

Segueing to a different topic, I’m currently rereading Siege & Storm by Leigh Bardugo in anticipation of the last book in the Grisha Trilogy, Ruin and Rising. And as I was reading it again, something struck me.

I realised that there were some details in the book that I completely missed out on my first read. Like I didn’t notice that this character’s personality was wonderful or this certain cultural reference that I found fascinating. What I’m trying to say is that sometimes you discover new things when you reread a book.

My theory is that when you first read a book, you’re so excited and you just can’t wait to dive into the story that you’re flying through the pages, and you didn’t even notice that you might’ve missed some important information. And by rereading a book, you are given an opportunity to revisit that same fantastical world that you were so giddy about. You are given another chance to take small bites and savour each and every paragraph, sentence, word, or punctuation.

Also, it’s a good refresher if you’re waiting for a sequel to come out. By the time it comes out, you’ll be even more enthusiastic to revisit this world you loved so much in the first book.

So right now, I can say that I am more open to rereading books. I actually already have a list of books that I want to read again. And I hope after reading this, you’ll be inspired to do the same as well.

As always, I want to hear what you have to say! Are you like me and you’re not fond of rereading? Or if you do reread books, do you discover something new every time? Something you might’ve missed on your first read? Comment down below and I’ll see ya next time! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Rereading Books

  1. I actually don’t like re-reading books unless it’s one of my favorite (like Harry Potter) or book I never get tired reading (The Lumatere Chronicles). However, I have to reread books if a sequel is coming up. That’s why I try not to buy them unless the series is almost finish. I want to read them in one sitting.

    Aside from waiting for another year for the next book, I have to reread it because I have to refresh the story in my mind otherwise, I won’t be able to enjoy the next book. Did you know that I’m planning to re-read The Lunar Chronicles from book 1. I have not read Cress yet and I think her role is connected in book 1. I forgot so I want to read from the start but I don’t think I will re-read it anytime soon since book 4 is not expected until next year. And what will happen then? Am I going to read Cress again or start with Cinder *again*? So to save myself from re-reading, I will just wait for the last book to come out then I’ll re-read everything.

    I agree with your theory. I experienced it a lot of times. When I reread a book that I love the first time I read it, there’s a chance that I will be more critical with it. I will notice the character and story issues.

  2. I re-read a lot of books, mostly the character-driven ones. I find it harder to do so when it’s plot-driven because those usually catch your attention by building the suspense. And it’s pretty much gone when you know what will happen in the end. But I do agree that there are a lot of new things to find when yo re-read a book. It’s easy to miss or forget some details. I think every re-read is an entirely new experience from the first one. And it can both go ways – good or bad.

    1. “I re-read a lot of books, mostly the character-driven ones. I find it harder to do so when it’s plot-driven because those usually catch your attention by building the suspense.” Love this! Thanks for pointing that out! 🙂

  3. I read the Harry Potter series twice. Well, audiobooked it, then read it. I also like to reread The Little Prince, but other than that, I usually skim books, no reread them, just like you! I feel like rereading the whole book wastes my time. I’d rather spend those times to discover new books to read, and go on new adventures with new main characters 🙂

  4. I re-read books but I think a better word to use is I skim through it. I agree with you, I usually critic it more the second time I read it and sometimes I question myself why I liked/loved that book.

  5. I definitely agree. There are some book out there that are worth rereading. I’ve done that dozen of times, and I agree that it gives off a new light when you’re reading it for a second time around.

  6. I’m fond of rereading books that are special to me. Whenever I’m in a book reading slump or I just don’t have any motivation to read anything new at all, I just reread Written in Red by Anne Bishop or Blood Song by Anthony Ryan and I’ll get my groove again. There’s just something about these books that remind me that reading can be so awesome and worthwhile, even if you’ve read them a hundred times. Plus, meeting familiar faces and characters again cheer me up a lot!

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

Leave a Reply

