Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars


Does The Fault in Our Stars live up to its infinite amount of hype? Yes, it does. 

The Fault in Our Stars is a breakthrough in the YA movie adaptation scene. It strays away from what we’re used to seeing. Gone are the kids in bloodbaths. No wizards, werewolves, vampires, in here folks. In short, it’s reality.

The cast was brilliant especially Shailene Woodley. I liked her more here than in Divergent. I think she’s a splendid actress. She really captured the snark and the vulnerability of Hazel Grace. And the same goes for Ansel Elgort. Prior to watching the movie, I’ve had some qualms about his acting based on the trailers/teasers alone. I feel as if he wasn’t connecting with the audience. But after watching the entire material, I can honestly say he did a good job of portraying Augustus. He captured Gus’ boyish charm very well.

Also, I really enjoyed Nat Wolff’s performance as Isaac. I thought he was hilarious and perfect for Isaac’s character.

As for the plot, don’t fret. The Fault in Our Stars is a faithful adaptation. One of the faithful adaptations actually. I recognised every scene/dialogue from the book. So if you’re worrying about the film’s accuracy, I tell you now don’t.

Onto my more critical notes, I realised how the movie was somewhat boring. As I stated above, the film really sticked to its source material and followed the direction of the novel. With that being said, it was pretty much predictable for me. It’s not the film’s fault though. I think if I hadn’t read the book, I would’ve enjoyed this movie to its fullest.

Overall, The Fault in Our Stars will surely please its devoted fans. And I’m sure the average movie-goer will also like this film. I think its universal themes of love and loss is what gives The Fault in Our Stars that mainstream appeal. After all, it’s something we can all relate to.

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars

  1. I didn’t LOVE Shailene in Divergent, but I’m curious to see what she’s like here. 🙂 I’m glad it was faithful to the book. I never actually mind movies becoming predictable as long as they’re true to the novel. 😛

  2. I’ve seen Wolf in another movie actually, and he’s actually good. Great actually, I don’t know what to expect of the other actors/actresses because some of them I haven’t seen before. But I knew this one would be faithful to the book, because John Green was the screenwriter anyways. I can’t wait to watch this one 😀

Leave a Reply

