Mini Movie Reviews! #FrenchFilmBinge Edition

Hello to all you film enthusiasts out there! So this past couple of weeks I’ve been doing a French film marathon, or as I like to call it, #FrenchFilmBinge. You might have seen me tweeting this numerous times in different times of the day. I’ll do a little a recap at the end of this post about what I’ve observed after watching all these French movies. Let’s get started, shall we?

Paris, Je T’aime

Translation: Paris, I Love You

From what I can gather, this was a very popular film at its time so I decided to watch this to kick off the marathon. Paris, Je T’aime is an anthology film. It features an ensemble cast and a slew of talented directors. I didn’t particularly enjoy all of the shorts. There were a few that stood out, but for the most part I got bored with the others.

Would I recommend it? Yes. Here are some of my fave shorts: Quais de Seine, Le Marais, Tuileries, Bastille, Tour Eiffel, Faubourg Saint-Denis.

J’ai tué ma mère

Translation: I Killed My Mother

Directed by: Xavier Dolan

Starring: Xavier Dolan, Anne Dorval, Suzanne Clement, François Arnaud, Niels Schneider

I found about this film through Xavier Dolan whom I discovered on the 2014 Cannes Film Festival. What I loved about this film is the charged emotions between the characters especially with Xavier and Anne. I thought their performances were realistic and powerful. I was also amazed by Xavier’s directing skills at such a young age.

Would I recommend it? Definitely. If you want to get started with French dramas, then you should give this one a go.

Populaire

Translation: None

Directed by: Régis Roinsard 

Starring: Déborah François, Romain Duris

This is by far my favourite French film of all time. It was very quirky and funny. I loved the chemistry between the two characters. They were inseparable. I love the vintage setting. I love the music they used. I just love this film to death guys.

Would I recommend it? HECK YES. If you’re a fan of rom-coms, then you’ll love this.

The Princess of Montpensier

Translation: None

Directed by: Bertrand Tavernier

Starring: Mélanie Thierry, Gaspard Ulliel, Grégoire Leprince-Ringuet, Lambert Wilson, Raphaël Personna

Okay so I didn’t quite like this film. Mainly because I couldn’t connect with the lead character. I felt like Mélanie Thierry was sometimes lost in the camera. Like she couldn’t grab my attention. I also have problems with plot. I find it hard to follow through everything. But I did like the latter half of the film. It was exciting and dramatic enough to hold my last few minutes of attention.

Would I recommend it? You can skip this film, but if you like that show Reign, I think you’ll enjoy this way more than me.

Les Amours Imaginaires

Translation: Heartbeats

Directed by: Xavier Dolan

Starring: Xavier Dolan, Monia Chokri, Niels Schneider

Surprise, another Dolan film. I just love his style of filming okay. Anyway, I was bored for the majority of the film. It wasn’t that exciting for me. But it was entertaining to say the least. The performances were amazing as usual.

Would I recommend it? Yeah. I’d recommend all of Dolan’s films in a heartbeat (get it).

Recap of #FrenchFilmBinge.

I had a great time marathoning all of those amazing films. I’ve noticed that I got easily distracted with the architecture/setting especially with Paris, Je T’aime. Also, I’ve observed that French actors/actresses are very emotive with their performances. They’re very expressive but not overtly dramatic.

Overall, I’m glad I did this. Really looking forward to watching more French films especially Dolan’s ha.

One thought on “Mini Movie Reviews! #FrenchFilmBinge Edition

Leave a Reply

