Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the awesome people over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s theme is the top books I’ve read this year. Easy. Note that slight twinge of of sarcasm. I’ve read quite a lot of good books so far in 2014. Let’s hope I can sort through all my feelings and pick the best of the best.

Note: This is list is in no particular order. 

1. Unteachable by Leah Raeder // my review

– Gorgeous, full-of-depth writing and two unforgettable characters. I love this book too much.

2. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan // my review

– This book is the epitome of quirk. Best read without knowing anything too much about the plot.

3. Plus One by Elizabeth Fama // my review

– An amazing standalone dystopian novel with a dynamic romance. Also the beginning of my Fama obsession.

4. Aspen by Rebekah Crane // my review

– If you’re following me on Twitter, then you might have noticed my slew of tweets praising this novel. It’s just that good.

5. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd // my review

– Deliciously dark and insanely graphic, The Madman’s Daughter is everything I expect and love from gothic YA.

6. Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama // my review

– Surprise, surprise. I feel like I don’t have to explain myself on this one.

7. Altered by Jennifer Rush // my review

– Thrilling and lots of great twists and action, why hasn’t everyone read this book?

8. Just Sing by René Gilley // my review

– A spectacular YA debut about following your dreams and hardships that come by. Friends, this is no American Idol.

9. Make It Count by Megan Erickson // my review

– I only have one thing to say: Nerd is definitely the new black. I also like how this book tackles mental issues.

10. Melt by Selene Castrovilla // review to come.

– Wow. I stil haven’t moved on from the events that took place in this book. Meanwhile, you can check my very short reaction here.

What are your top ten books of 2014 so far?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

  1. I need to read Unteachable, since I’m a huge non-fan of NA and I’ve heard this one’s one of the better NA novels. 🙂 I’m so curious about Elizabeth Fama and have been always almost-buying Monstrous Beauty since you keep talking about it. 😛 Insanely graphic? I have to check that one out. I want to read Altered, too!

Leave a Reply

