Coin Heist by Elisa Ludwig

Coin Heist by Elisa Ludwig

Publication: June 10th 2014 by Adaptive Studios

Series: None

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

The last place you’d expect to find a team of criminals is at a prestigious Philadelphia prep school. But on a class trip to the U.S. Mint – which prints a million new coins every 30 minutes – an overlooked security flaw becomes far too tempting for a small group of students to ignore.

United by dire circumstances, these unlikely allies – the slacker, the nerd, the athlete, and the “perfect” student – band together to attempt the impossible: rob the U.S. Mint. The diverse crew is forced to confront their true beliefs about each other and themselves as they do the wrong thing for the right reasons.

Elisa Ludwig’s Coin Heist is a fun, suspenseful, and compelling thriller, told from the revolving perspectives of four teens, each with their own motive for committing a crime that could change all of their lives for the better—if they can pull it off.

My Review.

Going into this book, I had pretty high expectations. The premise sounds promising and something I would throughly enjoyed. And for a number of reasons, Coin Heist managed to meet those expectations of mine. But did it deliver the whole package? Sadly, it did not.

My initial attraction with this book lies in the characters. I’m fond of stories wherein a group of diverse and different personalities team up for a greater cause. I think the tension between them is exciting and it makes for a really great adventure. And this book was exactly that.

Each character in Coin Heist is greatly flawed, and what I loved about that is they were in a relatable degree. I identified with their situation and what they’re going through with school. I understand their reactions for this and that. Overall, there was great character development all throughout. But I did have some issues with Alice’s character. There were times when she was being mean without any strong reason. And she was really bossy. Anyway, she’s not my cup of tea, folks.

Here comes the problems I had with Coin Heist…

The pacing was terribly slow. I had actually thought this was fast-paced, but it wasn’t. In fact, I got so bored I had to check my Twitter every five minutes or so. It just couldn’t hold my attention wholly. It wasn’t consistent.

And there’s the actual coin heist. Not until I was actually reading it did I only realize how outrageous robbing the US Mint is especially by some high school students. I almost couldn’t believe everything that had been happening. Although it was excellently written and plotted, it just seemed too absurd.

Amidst all that shenanigans, I still liked this read even though it disappointed me more than it impressed me.

3 stars

3 thoughts on “Coin Heist by Elisa Ludwig

  1. Even though I enjoyed this book everything you just said is completely valid! The beginning part was slow but the characters just pushed me to read it. I agree with you with Alice’s mean-streak and her weird hatred towards Dakota (which I kinda forgot to mention on my review). At least you gave this book a shot! Great review 😀

Leave a Reply

