What If It’s a Movie? – Contemporaries That Click

What If It’s a Movie? is a new feature I’ll be doing occasionally on the blog wherein I’ll be talking about two things I love: film and books. As the title says, I’m going to be choosing a book that I think would turn out great as a movie and other things such as castings, directors, and my overall thoughts.

With the news of Kody Keplinger’s The DUFF getting adapted into film and the success of The Fault in Our Stars at the box office, I’ve been thinking: where are all the other YA contemporary adaptations? There’s a lot of fantasy and dystopian to go around, but what about the real world?

So for today, I’ve compiled some contemporaries that I think would make great movies.

16101168

1. All of Stephanie Perkins’s books.

– Personally, I would love to see Woody Allen adapt/direct her books. He’s been known for his travelogue-style films so I think he’s the perfect choice. (Though I know there’s a very slim chance of it happening *wipes tear*) As for casting, Sam Claflin needs to play Etienne St. Clair. He was born for this role.

13522285

2. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

– This novel has been a popular pick among YA lists, and I can see why. It’s got similar elements from The Fault in Our Stars. Who do I want as Ezra and Cassidy? Logan Lerman and Emma Watson, hands down.

tumblr_inline_n7de9kDPzf1qdr5v33. How to Love by Katie Cotugno

– How to Love tackles a very serious and current issue among teenagers, which is teen pregnancy, and I think a film would raise awareness or something like that. Sidenote: the new paperback cover is really pretty.

76643344. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

– I’m already daydreaming about how awesome the soundtrack would be if this gets adapted. And for Amy and Roger, I want Hailee Steinfild and Nat Wolff to play them.

9649873

5. Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

– This is my favourite YA contemporary of all time. It made me squirm the whole damn time. So it’s pretty obvious that I want my baby to be on the big screen. For some reason, I want Disney to produce this film. It just has that vibe, you know?

What are some YA contemporaries that you think would make a great movie?

2 thoughts on “What If It’s a Movie? – Contemporaries That Click

  1. omg it’s so funny because I imagine Logan Lerman as Ezra when I was reading it ehehe. But yes, I’d also love to see Perkins’ books adapted into movies — but also scared, since most Book to Movie adaptations really suck (Except for TFiOS and Divergent) in my honest opinion. I’ve also seen How to Love COUNTLESS times in bookstores, but I never picked it up since I didn’t know the plot, (Until now. Thanks for the post btw.) nor did I even try to look it up on Goodreads, but knowing now that it’s about teen pregnancy, I WILL IMMEDIATELY PICK THIS UP THE NEXT TIME I GO TO A BOOKSTORE. Love this post, Miguel! 😀

  2. I think How to Love would be a really perfect contemporary read, full of drama and themes that are relevent to teens today. When I read it, it broke my heart over and over again, and I just got overwhelmed with the warm fuzzies when everything found its resolution. I’d love to read it although I’m not sure who to cast for who. Haha.

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

Leave a Reply

