Waiting on Wednesday (15) – The Girl At Midnight

wow The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey

Expected publication: April 28th 2015 by Delacorte Press

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Add to Goodreads

For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

I am intensely and passionately excited for this book (duh) for a lot of reasons.

1. The synopsis says it’s for readers of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments and Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha — two series I so freaking love.

2. The cover. Does that count?

3. See reasons nos. 1 and 2.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (15) – The Girl At Midnight

  1. I don’t like the glow-y images on the cover, but the overall design’s really pretty! 😀 The synopsis, though. I’m interested! 😀

    (All your WoW posts add books to my TBR, Miguel!)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s