Behind the Scenes by Dahlia Adler

Behind the Scenes by Dahlia Adler

Publication: June 24th 2014 by Spencer Hill Contemporary

Format: eBook, 328 pages

Source: Won in a giveaway

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

High school senior Ally Duncan’s best friend may be the Vanessa Park – star of TV’s hottest new teen drama – but Ally’s not interested in following in her BFF’s Hollywood footsteps. In fact, the only thing Ally’s ever really wanted is to go to Columbia and study abroad in Paris. But when her father’s mounting medical bills threaten to stop her dream in its tracks, Ally nabs a position as Van’s on-set assistant to get the cash she needs.

Spending the extra time with Van turns out to be fun, and getting to know her sexy co-star Liam is an added bonus. But when the actors’ publicist arranges for Van and Liam to “date” for the tabloids just after he and Ally share their first kiss, Ally will have to decide exactly what role she’s capable of playing in their world of make believe. If she can’t play by Hollywood’s rules, she may lose her best friend, her dream future, and her first shot at love.

My Review.

I was a bit skeptical going into this book because I’m not a fan of Hollywood-themed plots. They usually come off as unrealistic or shallow to me, and rarely do I enjoy reading them. Thankfully, Behind the Scenes delivered all the goods I didn’t receive from those Hollywood rejects.

I’m going to divide this review with the ‘ole what I liked and what I didn’t like format. In that way I’ll cover everything that I want to say about this book.

What I Liked.

  • The writing was very engaging. I wasn’t bored and rarely was there a dull moment in Behind the Scenes. Kudos to Miss Dahlia Adler, I’m definitely adding her to my authors-to-watch list.
  • Everything was fun, fun, fun. As I mentioned above, I was almost never bored with this book! The plot flowed smoothly, and there were a lot of laugh-out-loud scenes. It felt as if I were watching a good-quality Disney teenage drama. Think Hannah Montana here, minus the wrecking balls.
  • Awesome characters, please? adored the characters in here especially Ally. I liked her keen sense of determination in accomplishing tasks. I also liked the side characters: Van, Ally’s charismatic best friend, and of course, Liam, or Ally’s love interest.
  • Lots of great relationships tackled and handled excellently particularly Ally and Van’s friendship. It was authentic. Never did I raise my eyebrows at them because I know that their relationship was real amidst all the glitz and glamour of Van’s celebrity status. Again, it was like Hannah Montana all over again. There was also Ally’s relationship with her family — it was admirable! And lastly, her relationship with Liam which was pretty okay for me.

What I Didn’t Like.

  • Somewhere near the end of the novel, I got so irritated with Ally. I didn’t quite like this part of the story. It’s where things get ugly and the characters get even uglier, emotions-wise. I felt like Ally could’ve handle things much better here since she’s pretty smart. But I guess it’s all part of her character development?

I think it’s obvious that I pretty much enjoyed this read. It was a great debut, that’s for sure, and I can’t wait to see what Dahlia has up her sleeves especially for the sequel. Hmmmm.

Oh and I also highly, highly, highly recommend Behind the Scenes if you love contemporary YA or if you’re like me, more realistic stories about life behind the scenes.

4 stars

 

 

4 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes by Dahlia Adler

  1. I follow the author on Twitter, and she’s just fabulous. She’s been working hard on getting her book out there, and I think she’s reaping the goods because her books is getting so much positive feedback and being spread far and wide. I’d love to read this as soon as I can get a copy, but I don’t think I’ve seen this title in bookstores here yet. Can’t wait to read it!

    Faye at The Social Potato

  2. Based on the cover and the title, I would’ve skipped this book, but it does sound like a really fun read! And I did watch my share of Hannah Montana, so I know I will appreciate the friendship between Ally and Van. Plus, you can never go wrong with FUN!

Leave a Reply

