Top Ten Movies of 2014

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the awesome people over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s theme is the movies of 2014, or at least that’s what I decided on. I’ve watched a lot of good movies this year, and even more than my usual count.  If you’ve been following my Mini Movie Reviews! series, then you probably have an idea of what’s on this list.

Do take note that not all of these movies were released this year.

*This list is arranged in ranking order, so #1 is probably my favourite movie of 2014 so far.

movie posters i

1. Dead Poets Society 

– Man. I did not expect this movie to leave such a huge impact in my life. I was forever changed after watching Dead Poets Society. It has thought me a lot of great values that I should carry with me in my journey of finding myself, or something like that. And that ending! #SOMUCHFEELS.

2. Maleficent

– This was a visually-enticing and mind-boggling retelling of Sleeping Beauty. I’m actually starting to doubt the original fairy tale haha. Angelina Jolie was the obvious show-stopper here.

3. Oculus 

– Quite possibly my favourite horror flick of all time, and that’s saying a lot. I really hope they continue on with a sequel for this because that ending left me hanging.

movie posters i

4. Black Swan

– I can’t believe it took me so long to watch this movie! It had everything I wanted and loved about psychological-thrillers. I love Natalie Portman, guys.

5. Populaire

– My favourite French film of all time (or at least so far)! It was fun and hilarious and quirky (and swoon-y ha). If you’re going to venture into French film territory, then you should definitely start with this one (it’s that awesome). (enough with the parentheses, miguel)

6. Jane Eyre

– Of course, there’s bound to be a Tissue-Box-Grabbing-Worthy film in my faves of 2014 list, and no it’s not The Fault in Our StarsI can’t even form coherent thoughts on this one. It was just beautiful.

movie posters ii

7. The Kings of Summer

– This film was such a joy to watch! I love the cast, the story, the cinematography — everything. I may have formed an emotional bond with this film because of how much I identified with it.

8. I Killed My Mother

– My first glimpse of how amazing Xavier Dolan’s directing skills are. Also another great French film you should check out.

9. The Amazing Spider-Man 2

–  I don’t want to admit it, but I really enjoyed TASM2 even though I had prior reservations. I almost teared up at that ending, but I willed it to stop because I was watching with my family ha. Oh and Dane DeHaan was fabulous.

10. The Social Network

– Rounding up my top ten list is Facebook’s biopic. It was absolutely entertaining. I loved Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield here. And the score was spectacular.

So that’s it! What are your top movies of 2014?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Movies of 2014

  1. How amazing was Maleficent?! I went with my friends and they came out of it like “Yea.. that was okay…”

    I’m thinking “My gosh! Did we see the same movie? That was AMAZING!”

    The Kings of Summer was an awesome film too!

  2. I really need to see Maleficent…and The Amazing Spider-Man 2! I really love Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone and then Dane DeHaan on top of THAT?! Yeah I really need to hurry up and watch this! Also I didn’t see Oculus but oh my goodness whenever I think about it all I hear is that creepy high-pitched voice over from the trailer! AH! SO scary!! But great picks! 🙂

  3. I haven’t seen Maleficent yet, but I’ve seen The Amazing Spiderman too and it was freaking fantastic, also Captain America: The Winter Soldier. Hahaha!

  4. I haven’t watched a lot of movies yet, but I definitely loved The Amazing Spiderman 2. Man, it was a long movie, but it never felt dragging at all and I loved every second of it. The animation was top notch, Garfield certainly portrayed Peter Parker and Spiderman’s auras from the comic books, and Emma Stone was just LOVE. I adored Maleficent, too!!!! I watched it with my mom and she appreciated it so much, which is kinda rare considering she is so picky with movies. I did find the “twist” a tad predictable, but hey, that’s not the important part when it came to this movie. And, oh, oh, oh, Captain America Winter Soldier. That was awesomeness in epic proportions.

    Faye at The Social Potato

  5. I had to watch Dead Poet’s Society in high school and didn’t really love it. I did love Maleficent though! Oculus was interesting, but not one of my favorites. Amazing Spiderman 2 was amazing! I agree with the previous poster who loved Captain America: The Winter Soldier. So good! Great list!

    Here are my Top Ten!

  6. I haven’t seen all of these, but we share Jane Eyre. I did see Spider Man and enjoyed it. I missed Maleficent in the theaters so I will have to wait for the DVD now. Great list!

    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  7. Black Swan was crazy, wasn’t it? I really had no idea what I was getting myself into when I first watched it!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT! 🙂

  8. I’ve watched ASM2 (and totally love Andrew Garfield) and The Social Network but Dead Poets Society really takes the cake. If I remember correctly, the movie just celebrated its 25th (not sure) anniversary recently. I love this movie. It’s so emotional and gripping. Pus it has valuable life lessons. I think the quote “Don’t let your schooling interfere with your education” is so apt for this film. This is also one of my favorite movies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

