Mini Movie Reviews! The Lost Episode.

Well, well. It’s been a long time since the last Mini Movie Reviews! and I’ve watched some pretty darn good movies in that time period. Three of these films are actually on my Best of 2014 list where you can navigate through all of the lovely films I’ve watched and come to adore this year.

Dead Poets Society

Directed by: Peter Weir

Starring: Robin Williams, Robert Sean Leonard, Ethan Hawke

I present to you my top film of 2014. This film has left such a huge impact in my life. It changed my mindset about conformity and the “going with the flow” idea, it made me fell in love with literature more, and it inspired to be a better person while still maintaining my individual spark. Friends, this movie will change yo life.

The Amazing Spider-Man 2

Directed by: Marc Webb

Starring: Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Jamie Foxx, Dane DeHaan

I’m not a fan of superhero flicks in general. They just don’t seem to click with me anymore like it did when I was a child. But after a few hesitations, I finally willed myself to enjoy a superhero movie for once. And I did. My only problem with the TASM2 is Jamie Foxx’s character. In my opinion, Dane DeHaan would’ve been a more exciting lead antagonist. And the ending, you say? No, I don’t want to talk about it.

Maleficent

Directed by: Robert Stromberg

Starring: Angelina Jolie (she stole the show for me)

And the runner-up for top film of 2014 goes to Maleficent! Angelina Jolie, I take my hat off to you. You were spell-binding and spectacular. The visual effects were so awesome. The retelling itself was bold yet exciting. And Prince Charming was a throwaway character. Seriously, he was the only thing I didn’t like about this film. I wished he was introduced earlier on since he played a pivotal role in the original Sleeping Beauty.

Coming Soon

Directed by: Sophon Sakdapisit

Starring: Vorakan Rojchanawat, Sakulrath Thomas, Chantavit Dhanasevi

Looking for a good scare? Then I recommend this scream-inducing Thai horror. Looking for a high-quality horror flick without any overused cliches? Then keep looking, there’s nothing to see here. I watched Coming Soon with my friends and we all agreed that although it gave us quite the heart attack, the story itself amounts to almost nothing. In short, it was considerably weak coupled with average acting and directing. Shomba, please don’t haunt me…

One thought on “Mini Movie Reviews! The Lost Episode.

Leave a Reply

