#AugustIsAwesome: A Little Something Different with Sandy Hall

Welcome to Day 2 of #AugustIsAwesome! First of all, I would like to apologise for the lack of posts and activity. The past two weeks was a nightmare for me. There was this avalanche of schoolwork that came tumbling down out of the blue, and I had no escape. As for the fate of this blog series, I still plan on continuing it even though I’ll probably be busy again next week because of examinations.

So for today I have the lovely Sandy Hall who is the author of A Little Something Different coming out on August 26th from SwoonReads! Also do check out their website which has some really cool content!

A Little Something Different

The Quirky Reader: Could you tell us a bit about your writing journey? From early drafting to sending your manuscript to SwoonReads and finally, getting published.

Sandy Hall: I actually wrote A Little Something Different specifically for Swoon Reads. When I heard about the community I thought it sounded like a lot of fun and wanted to try my hand at it. I posted the manuscript in mid-November and watched intently through December and January.

It all happened really fast after that. I got an email in early February saying that I had good news from Swoon Reads and by the end of that week I was signing a book contract. It’s been a total whirlwind!

These past few weeks things have really amped up again and it’s been awesome writing guest blogs posts and being interviewed.

The Quirky Reader: What was the inspiration behind A LITTLE SOMETHING DIFFERENT? Why’d you write it different POVs rather than the two lovebirds, Lea and Gabe?

Sandy Hall: There were several inspirations that all came together to form ALSD. One of the inspirations was an email from a friend who told me what she’d like to see more of in teen romance. I also wanted to challenge myself, to see how far I could take the idea of writing a novel from the perspectives of everyone except for the main characters.

The Quirky Reader: What was the most stressful and most rewarding part of writing your novel?

Sandy Hall: The most stressful, for me, is editing. I don’t mind the writing, and I don’t mind the rewriting, but around the third and fourth draft I just get really stressed and start to feel like I can’t look at the same words even one more time. But that’s when you just have to suck it up and do your job.

The most rewarding part has been sharing it with people, especially teens. I’m a teen librarian and I had the opportunity to run a book club using ARCs of ALSD and talking to the teens about it was fantastic. They had such great questions and interesting comments.

The Quirky Reader: What is your favourite YA romance novel and why?

Sandy Hall: I’ve always been a HUGE YA romance reader from the time I was a teenager myself. One of my favorites from when I was a kid was Seven Days to a Brand New Me by Ellen Conford. I recently finished Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins and I would definitely say that’s going to make my favorites list.

Both of these books have shy and reserved protagonists. I think that’s something I look for in romances. I don’t necessarily seek out over the top romance with huge declarations of love. I like to see everyday people finding each other against all odds, including the barriers and obstacles they set up around themselves.

About the Author.

SONY DSC

Sandy Hall is a teen librarian from New Jersey where she was born and raised. She has a BA in Communication and a Master of Library and Information Science from Rutgers University. When she isn’t writing, or teen librarian-ing, she enjoys reading, marathoning TV shows, and long scrolls through Tumblr. A LITTLE SOMETHING DIFFERENT is her first novel.
2 thoughts on “#AugustIsAwesome: A Little Something Different with Sandy Hall

Leave a Reply

