Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me To Read + Anime!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the awesome people over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s theme is all about the books people have been telling me to go forth and read. Of course, the stubborn person that I am refuses to acknowledge said books. It’s mostly because of other books that attract my attention. But anyway, here are some books I’ve had people tell/yell/threaten me to read.

Oh and some anime recs at the end.

1. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

You can close your gaping mouths now. Whether or not I’ll actually read this series is still up for debate. And I know, I’m probably missing out on like 10 years of my life right now, but it’s been pretty chill without Harry so far.

2. John Green’s other novels (especially Looking for Alaska)

Am I the only Nerdfighter who hasn’t read all of Father Nerdfighter’s work?! I hope not. I’ve heard all the spoilers for Looking for Alaska already, so is there really a need for me to read this?

3. Gayle Forman’s novels (especially Just One Day)

A friend of mine once summarised the entire Gayle Forman catalogue in a span of 10 minutes or less, and my interest is piqued. If I Stay is the only ever Forman book I’ve read, but I do plan on changing that.

4. Every Day by David Levithan

There was a time in school wherein all of my classmates were carrying this gem of a book for almost a week. It’s hard not to get swept by the hype.

5. The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer (like seriously.)

6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

You guys must think I’m joking at this point.

7. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I am a fan of anything creepy and mindfugging so I constantly get the recs for this one.

8. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

I’m the only one in our circle of bookish friends who hasn’t read Before I Fall. What’s even more depressing is that they each own a hardcover copy.

9. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

I listened to the audiobook, but I didn’t get to finish it (thank you Apple for deleting whilst my phone was updating). Now, my friend (I have lots of friends hehe) is bugging me to continue this book.

10. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis (aka my WTF entry)

Ze Anime.

11. Free! Iwatobi Swim Club

My number one reason for being wary about watching this anime is the number of shirtless hot swimmer dudes on display throughout the show. My inner manliness cannot help but be insecure. BUT I swear I will watch this before the year ends.

12. Sword Art Online

Sword Art Online was so popular at our school way back when, and I was scared that once I started watching this the established fan base would attack for me joining the bandwagon. But what the heck, I’m pushing forth this endeavour.

What books have people been threatening telling you to read?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me To Read + Anime!

  1. Read “The Harry Potter Series”. READ IT RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!! Seriously, it’s awesome.
    The thing I think you’ve heard spoilers for in Looking for Alaska happens around the middle of the book and it’s widely foreshadowed, so if you liked the John Green book you’ve read, you should probably try it out, too.
    My TTT

  2. Sorry I’m still trying to pick my jaw up off the ground. No HP? No John Green? No Twilight (that may be a good thing)!? Gosh, if I do nothing in life other than get you to read HP, I will be satisfied. Good luck!

    Amanda @ i solemnly swear

  3. Fab list. I’m really looking forward to reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I’m so intrigued by it! I have Every Day on my TBR too. Looking forward to it!

  4. Argh, I’ve read so many of these! Number one, number one, number one. DO IT. Oh my word, Harry Potter is phenomenal! I’ve read TFioS and Paper Towns. I liked TFioS, Paper Towns was a bit disappointing, but I’ve heard Looking For Alaska is good. I read the Twilight Saga about 4 years ago, and I have to say I did like them! I haven’t read The Book Thief yet, I started it and it was good, but I got distracted by CoHF! Miss P and any book by L Oliver are on my TBR list!

    R x

  5. Looking for Alaska is the only John Green I am particularly interested in.

    I’m actually seeing quite a few today who haven’t read HP yet, so there’s that.

    The good thing about recs is if they come people who you tend to like the same books then you don’t have to worry about wasting your time 🙂

  6. I have to admit: after the first episode of SAO, in my opinion, everything isn’t as cool anymore as the novelty of how it began. I haven’t watched the second season yet although I don’t think I will anytime soon (if at all). But I think if you’re okay with a willy nilly romance being at the forefront of the series then I think you’d enjoy it? If you ever wanted to get into reading the visual novels instead (I think the first season of anime only goes into the 2nd or 3rd volume of visual novels) that’s always an option as well.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  7. *snicker* Aside from Harry Potter and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, I haven’t read any of those yet. I tried Twilight once upon a time 6-7 years ago (I was in High School), but I gave it up after 50 pages and never looked back since. I really need to read Lauren Oliver, though. I seriously haven’t read A SINGLE THING from her – not even the Delirium book. In any case, so far so good too in my case!

    Faye at The Social Potato

  8. I think you should definitely try Twilight its like a passage to reading YA haha. (I dunno, I started reading with Twilight so…) but I’m kinda meh towards Just One Day. Its nice, but it kinda pissed me off too. 😦

    BTW, I also want to read the Harry Potter series and Narnia 😀 I should add that to my bucketlist. 😀

  9. Who are you. ARE YOU HUMAN. YES I HOPE YOU ARE JOKING BUT I KNOW YOU ARE NOT BUT DEAR LAMPSHADES AND GRAPES AND WHAT THE FALAFELS.
    I’m not talking to you until you’ve read The Book Thief and HARRY POTTER. Have you at least watched the films. I guess you have right?

Leave a Reply

