The 35th Manila International Book Fair + ALL THE BOOKS BOOK HAUL!

1507852_611143355606019_554884629_n

All the books! Last week was the 35th annual Manila International Book Fair, and it is the biggest and grandest book convention here in the Philippines. There were publishers and stalls and of course, bookworms! This is my second year attending MIBF so I’m pretty much a veteran ha.

By the way, this post is going to be quite dull because for the second year in a row, I forgot to take pictures with me. Sigh.

The dreadful last day. I went to the fair at a pretty crucial time, which is the last day. I had this feeling that there were no more books because everybody had already shopped till they dropped in the past days. And that was partially true.

I only had two stalls in mind to visit which are National Bookstore and Fullybooked. When I got to the Fullybooked stall – oh boy – almost all of the shelves were empty! It’s like a hurricane of bookworms sucked everything up and left no books to spare. I can also assume that they got the good books already.

Love-and-Other-Drugs

Next I visited National Bookstore and just as I anticipated, the book I was looking for was there, sitting pretty in the shelves waiting for my hands and money to come and give it a new home.

The priority list. Of course, when you’re going to a book fair, you need to have a wish list or the books that you have in mind, or else you’ll just be running around the place and grabbing random paperbacks. So here’s my wish list/priority list:

  1. A Penguin DropCap classic
  2. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
  3. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Unfortunately, I only got two out of the three books I wanted. Oh well, at least I can save more money the next time.

THE BOOK HAUL. Other than the books I bought at the fair, I also received/bought some books prior to MIBF. Without further ado, here are the books!

10715823_960827213934496_1174799854_n
I’m not really good at taking photographs.

From National Bookstore

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens (Penguin DropCap edition, baby!)

From Fullybooked

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Pre-MIBF Haul

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Conclusion. So that’s it! I got to say though, to be really honest, I enjoyed last year’s fair more. Maybe it’s because I went on the last day when I should’ve come earlier. The most important thing though is that I got new books! Haha! Anyway, that’s all for this post. Let me know if you went to the fair and what books did you get. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The 35th Manila International Book Fair + ALL THE BOOKS BOOK HAUL!

  1. I can’t wait for you to read We Were Liars! That book was SO overwhelming. In a way, I senses that something big was going to happen but still didn’t know what. It left me feeling so stunned after and I immediately went to Goodreads to read what people thought.

    Anyway, wow, you have some great books there! I see you bought The Raven Boys -please do tell me what you think afte you’ve read the book. It’s been on my TBR shelf for a long time and I never got around to reading it.

    Happy Reading!
    Kat

  2. I enjoyed last year’s fair more, too! I went on the last day last year, and there were still plenty of books and a lot less people. This year, I went on Saturday, and it was like being in a can of sardines! SO MANY PEOPLE. I only got 1/3 books from my wishlist. 😦

    I have Game of Thrones here and still haven’t read it. The first page confused me. xD We Were Liars was, sadly, a DNF for me. I really enjoyed Cruel Beauty, though, and the jacket’s gorgeous! ❤

Leave a Reply

