Mini Movie Reviews! The Long and Overdue Edition.

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Directed by: Andrew Adamson

Starring: William Moseley, Anna Popplewell, Skandar Keynes, Georgie Henley, Tilda Swinton, Liam Neeson, James McAvoy

I have not read The Chronicles of Narnia nor anything by C.S. Lewis yet. And after watching the first film in the Narnia series, it’s safe to say that it’s piqued my interest enough to actually borrow the book from the library and read it. Though I was pretty much bored for the whole duration of the movie, the amount of talent and magic present in the cast is enough to merit this film a solid four-star from me.

My Week with Marilyn

Directed by: Simon Curtis

Starring: Michelle Williams, Kenneth Branagh, Eddie Redmayne, Emma Watson, Judi Dench

This is one of those films that you appreciate for its beauty, cinematography, and talent. As much as I love Michelle Williams here, the entire film was quite boring with fleeting moments of excitement and drama. But again, the talented cast weighs more than the film’s inconsistency. And I love the colour palette of this film, by the way.

Easy A

Directed by: Will Gluck

Starring: Emma Stone, Amanda Bynes, Penn Badgley, Thomas Haden Church, Aly Michalka

Easily the best movie I’ve seen in a while since Maleficent and Dead Poets Society. I don’t why I never got the courage to watch this when it was in our movie collection the entire time. I only got to watch it then when it premiered on TV. It was so freaking hilarious! This is my favourite kind of humour – the smartass and sassy kind. And I think I just fell in love with Emma Stone a little more.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Directed by: Michel Gondry

Starring: Jim Carrey, Kate Winslet

Oh man. I have a lot to say to this film, but at the same time I don’t want to say anything because I fear it might disrupt the atmosphere and emotion contained in this very beautiful work of art. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet were just phenomenal here, and just remembering their performances makes me want to cry and curl up on the floor. I dare you to watch this without ever feeling heartbreak and happiness at the same time.

One thought on “Mini Movie Reviews! The Long and Overdue Edition.

Leave a Reply

