2014 Debut Authors Bash: The Book of Days with K.A. Barker

I am back with another tour stop for the 2014 Debut Authors Bash organised by the lovely people at YA Reads! For today, I have Aussie YA newcomer, K.A. Barker, to talk about her extremely enticing fantasy/steampunk debut – The Book of Days! Also, do check out the giveaway at the end of this post!

The Book of Days
When Tuesday wakes from sleep for the first time at sixteen, she opens her eyes to a world filled with wonder – and peril. Left with only a letter from the person she once was, Tuesday sets out to discover her past with the help of her charming and self-serving guide, Quintalion. Along the way she runs into one-legged mercenaries, flying cities, airships, and a blind assistant librarian. But danger lurks amidst the steam. The leader of the merciless Daybreakers is hunting her, convinced that she killed the only woman he ever loved. Tuesday will need all her wits about her to survive long enough to find out who she is and her connection with the mysterious Book of Days: a book that holds untold power.

The Quirky Reader: So if you don’t mind me asking, what does K.A. mean? And what pushed you to use that moniker instead?

K.A. Barker: K.A. is the first two letters of my first and middle name. I decided to go by my initials for two reasons: 1) Boys are less likely to read a book written by a female author and I wanted The Book of Days to be accessible to everyone. 2) I hoped to separate my writing life from my normal life, but since my full name is easily google-able, it’s the flimsiest of attempts.

The Quirky Reader: Tell us a bit more about The Book of Days. Is this going to be part of a series?

K.A. Barker: The Book of Days is about a girl who is literally opening her eyes for the first time at the age of sixteen. Her past is a mystery and her future is filled with uncertain allies and people trying to kill her. How’s a girl supposed to find out who she is among all that nonsense?

I’d love for it to be a series. I have increasingly vague plans for three other books, but it all depends on how well The Book of Days is received.

The Quirky Reader: Three adjectives to describe Tuesday and Quintalion. (awesome name, btw.)

K.A. Barker: Tuesday is curious, bright, and wonderstruck. Quintalion is mercenary, loquacious, and broken (not that he’d let anyone know).

The Quirky Reader: What do you love most about Aussie YA?

K.A. Barker: Aussie YA is so unique. It doesn’t matter if it’s high fantasy or post-apocalyptic fiction, if it’s Aussie, it will be fresh, distinctive, and hit you like a punch to the gut. I truly do believe that Aussie YA is some of the best in the world.

The Quirky Reader: And your favourite song to sing in the showers? (Yes, I’ve done my research.)

K.A. Barker: Best question ever. If I’m feeling sophisticated, I’ll sing the movie version of Sondheim’s The Glamorous Life. But there’s nothing better than belting out Bohemian Rhapsody into your Herbal Essences.

About the Author.

K. A. Barker is a twenty-something writer from Brisbane, Australia. She writes books about imaginary places and impossible deeds. Her first Young Adult novel, The Book of Days, is due out in September from Pan Macmillan Australia. She is fond of dirigibles, good books, shower singing, cheesy adventure movies, and time periods not her own.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon

Giveaway Time!

One winner will receive a signed copy of The Book of Days by K.A. Barker! Isn’t she awesome?

Here are the giveaway guidelines:

  • Giveaway is open internationally.
  • I am not responsible, neither is K.A., for any lost or damaged package in the mail.
  • Giveaway is open to anyone over 13 years of age.
  • I will be checking the entriesDummy entries or uncompleted tasks will not be counted.
  • Winner will have two days/48 hours to respond to my email before I draw another winner.

giveaway

3 thoughts on “2014 Debut Authors Bash: The Book of Days with K.A. Barker

  1. I love month/weekday names. And steampunk is always awesome.

    But what is the difference between Aussie YA and other YA? I don’t really get the distinction.

  2. And as for recommendations, since this is a steampunk, I’d suggest Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld or the Finishing School series by Gail Carriger. Both are great series in that genre.

Leave a Reply

