The Fine Line Between Music and Books

I love music. I love listening to it. I love belting out inaccurate lyrics just for the sake of it. I love how it makes me feel all sorts of emotions. I love how it can make the world pause even if it’s for just three minutes or so. I love how I can express myself by just singing this song from that album. I love it’s fragile nature when trapped in my earphones. And I love how they tell stories. All sorts of them.

When you listen to a song, when you listen carefully to those lyrics, isn’t it like reading a book? This singer laments about a failed relationship; this singer croons about living in the present. These universal themes, haven’t we encountered them from the stories we’ve read?

Both mediums have the ability to make me feel. They have the capacity to convey such unique and powerful messages. So where am I going with this? I think there’s a fine line between music and books. Or maybe that line doesn’t exist at all.

I’m also that type of reader who listens while he reads. It’s not an easy task but the overall experience is really something. The next time you read, why don’t you put your phone or computer on shuffle? See where your music selection takes you.

Or if you’re like me, how was the feeling? Have you encountered a situation wherein the song complements the scene you’re currently reading? Also, who are your favourite music artists? I’m asking this because I need a new album to listen to other than 1989.

Cheers.

Postscript: Please forgive the messy construction of this post. I intended it to be as sporadic as possible because that’s where I’m at my finest (hopefully).

9 thoughts on “The Fine Line Between Music and Books

  1. I still prefer to read in silence (I’m unable to concentrate otherwise) but I love music nonetheless. I agree that both books and music evoke the same emotions and feelings- I’ve had my fair share of tearing-up after hearing a lovely song the way I would cry after reading a great book. It just happened with Taylor Swift’s This Love, and I found it perfect for a book I read before. 😀

  2. I’m a lyrics person, honestly. And my favorites are those that tell a story or those that you need to interpret first. And yes, it feels like you’re reading a book, within 3 minutes. With all the feels. Songs that I love because of the story/lyrics at the top of my head are:

    I Can Lift A Car by Walk the Moon (and basically all WTM songs)
    House of Gold by Twenty One Pilots (all of their songs are from poems)
    Chapel Song by We Are Augustines
    1957 by Milo Greene
    Confusing Happiness by Lo-Fang (and basically all Lo-Fang songs)
    Take Me To Church by Hozier (and basically all Hozier songs)

    Oops, actually I can go on and on. Haha!

  3. I sometimes listen to music while reading but it has to be mellow and not rock or EDM (unless the book is about a rock star or something like that). But I have to admit that 1989 is good background music even though it’s not mellow. I’ve been listening to it for weeks now and I still can’t get over how different and lovely it is at the same time.

  4. Okay, so, I’m not really a music person. *cringes* I do listen to music, but my mental song database is pretty limited. I agree: there are definitely songs that have made me cry (A Thousand Years and Safe and Sound when I first heard them) and have all the feels (I Say Yes–a Japanese song), but I’m not BIG on music. I can’t listen to anything while reading, but I do have some songs on loudspeaker when I study. 😉

Leave a Reply

