Mini Movie Reviews! End of the Year Edition.

So as the year nears to a close, I decided to do one more Mini Movie Reviews! post before retiring it until next year. I’ve watched several movies in the past months and I’m pretty excited to share my experience with you guys!

Blue Valentine

Directed by: Derek Cianfrance

Starring: Ryan Gosling, Michelle Williams

My reaction after the finishing the movie: MY TEARS MY FEELS MY EMOTIONS. Though the performances of both actors were great, the film seems a bit chopped up and uneven for them to work on. I also really like the colour palette.

Son of God

Directed by: Christopher Spencer

Starring: Diogo Margado, Roma Downey, Darwin Shaw

It’s weird because as a Christian myself, I don’t really like watching religious films, and I don’t know why. So when I watched Son of God, I had that mindset with me the whole time. Though I don’t have any criticism in terms of accuracy or storytelling.

Soul Surfer

Directed by: Sean McNamara

Starring: AnnaSophia Robb, Helen Hunt, Lorraine Nicholson, Carrie Underwood, Dennis Quaid

I’m sorry to all you Soul Surfer fans reading this review right now, but I thought this was sappy. I was bored for the majority of the film and I tried my best to focus but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. I do have to give crops on the shark scene – now that was an edge-of-your-seat moment. movie posters ii

Mean Girls

Directed by: Mark Waters

Starring: Tina Fey, Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Lizzy Caplan, Lacey Chabert, Amanda Seyfried

The fact that I only watched this teenage classic recently aside, Mean Girls was definitely one of the most fun movie experiences I’ve ever had. It’s humour is on-point and it reminds me of the comedy flicks into this generation. I JUST LOVE IT ALL.

Interstellar

Directed by: Christopher Nolan

Starring: Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Jessica Chastain, Michael Caine

Hands down the best movie I saw this year, and quite possibly, my favourite movie of all-time for now. It was just visually stunning and it was the second movie to make me cry this year.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

Directed by: Francis Lawrence

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Chris Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks Julianne Moore, Philip Seymour Hoffman

My most anticipated film of 2014 – did it deliver? Well, of course! Since Mockingjay is my least favourite in the trilogy, I sort of forgot the events that took place which made me oblivious to any slight changes in the adaptation. But my only criticism is that it wasn’t as exciting as Catching Fire. I like the political tension going on but that’s not going to retain in my mind after leaving the theatre.

Leave a Reply

