2014 in Review: Movies of 2014 + New Year’s Resolutions

2014 in review

Welcome to the last portion of my 2014 in Review wrap-up! Yesterday I awarded the books that made my Best of 2014 list, so for now I’ll be recognising the films that made it on said list. I’m totally getting the Oscars vibe here.

movies of 2014
Upper tier: J’ai Tué Ma Mère, The Kings of Summer, Populaire, Jane Eyre, Dead Poets Society Lower tier: Easy A, Maleficent, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part I, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Interstellar

Every new year, I always make it a point to have a recurring mantra throughout the whole year. For 2014 it was Be yourself; everyone else is already taken – one of my favourite Oscar Wilde quotes. I stuck with that the whole year and let me just say it’s pretty awesome discovering who I really am, or to put it simply, I UNLEASHED MY QUIRK NOT EVEN SORRY. 

Anyway. For the year 2015, I’ve decided that since I already found my identity (or shaped it at least), it’s time to break out out of my comfort zone and show everyone the Real Miguel. My 2015 mantra is: Be bold and daring, or somewhere along those lines until I find a better line.

And of course, I have New Year’s resolutions like everybody. For now, I’m going to share my bookish and blogging resolutions for the year 2015:

  • Quality over quantity. Since I only officially started blogging this year, I think got carried away by the excitement which resulted to a 100+ posts. There’s nothing wrong with that though. But for 2015, I’m going to be more meticulous with my posts. I want to provide better content for my readers and not half-baked paragraphs.
  • Read a hundred books. I did it last 2013 but sadly I didn’t reach the centennial mark this year. I’m hoping I can do it again for 2015. *fingers crossed*
  • Get to know more bloggers (esp. in my country). I’ve conversed with a lot of bloggers, both foreign and local ones, and I’m more eager to get to know them better and share the love of books and blogging and other trivial stuff we can think of. *waves to my blogging friends*
  • Branch out on genres. 
  • Self-host my blog. I’m not sure if I can achieve it this year, but I’m really hoping to get the freedom to host my own blog. (I’m pretty sure I used the wrong terms, but you get me right?)

So that’s it for my 2014 in Review! I can’t for 2015 to come because I am confident that it’ll be the year of even more awesome things and opportunities. I hope you had an awesome 2014 and an even more awesome 2015! Cheers!

2 thoughts on “2014 in Review: Movies of 2014 + New Year’s Resolutions

  1. The Real Miguel. Hahaha, cute! ;D

    And your reviews are already great and in-depth. But there are lots of pros to your quality over quantity goal. For one, your reviews will get more publicity if you keep them as the top post on your blog a little longer. This is actually one of the reasons why I review only twice or thrice a week. 🙂

    And YES to meeting more bloggers. I can say that I “know” lots of bloggers, but I want to get to know them better. One of my goals is to attend more bookish events here in the PH to get to know more PH readers and bloggers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

