A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas

A Wicked ThingA Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas

Release Date: February 24th 2015 by HarperTeen

Genres: Fantasy, Retelling

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

Rhiannon Thomas’s dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after happily ever after.One hundred years after falling asleep, Princess Aurora wakes up to the kiss of a handsome prince and a broken kingdom that has been dreaming of her return. All the books say that she should be living happily ever after. But as Aurora understands all too well, the truth is nothing like the fairy tale.

Her family is long dead. Her “true love” is a kind stranger. And her whole life has been planned out by political foes while she slept.

As Aurora struggles to make sense of her new world, she begins to fear that the curse has left its mark on her, a fiery and dangerous thing that might be as wicked as the witch who once ensnared her. With her wedding day drawing near, Aurora must make the ultimate decision on how to save her kingdom: marry the prince or run.

Rhiannon Thomas weaves together vivid scenes of action, romance, and gorgeous gowns to reveal a richly imagined world … and Sleeping Beauty as she’s never been seen before.

My Review.

Here’s another episode of What I Liked/What I Didn’t Like. You know the drill, right?

What I Liked:

  • The retelling itself. Sleeping Beauty is my favourite fairytale so it’s only fair to say that when I saw this book on Goodreads, my interest levels spiked! It’s darker than the original tale; there’s more shades of grey in the characters – meaning, you can never trust anyone’s intentions. And I like how magic is perceived here. The characters are constantly on the fence about its power.
  • There’s no black and white when it comes to the characters. As I mentioned above, the characters are not what they seem. The true identity of Aurora is a mystery in itself as hinted near the end of the novel. Even the love interests! There are three of them actually which is a real crowd going on, and what’s interesting is that their advances to Aurora all seem selfish. You can never really tell if there’s sparks flying or something else. I actually love these unreliable characters; they make the story more interesting plus you get to guess what happens

What I Didn’t Like:

  • The mind-numbingly slow pace. Confession: I skimmed more than 3/4’s of the book. It was soooooooo slow. We spend most of the chapters with Aurora wandering the castle or inside her head, which is not a happy place. And that hurts my overall feelings towards the book as I had such high expectations.
  • Too many blushing going on. I myself was pretty close to blushing after seeing the phrase He blushed 27 times. (Not the exact number but I’m guessing it’s close)

Overall, I was asking for something entirely different than this. The ending is weird and there seems to be a sequel in the works. Will I read it? Ummmm yeah? I have to say given my mixed feelings, I’m still intrigued. Plus I want to know the real Aurora.

2 stars

An advance copy was provided in exchange for an honest review. This has not affected my overall thoughts.

5 thoughts on “A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas

  1. Hmm, I was pretty hyped up about this book but I have now seen a couple of mixed reviews. Not a fan of slow pacing. And the fact that the author couldn’t find any other expression besides a blush would annoy me too.

  2. I super agree with your review, here! The characters and the atmosphere, I really liked them. I think even Aurora’s reaction to the whole thing was really realistic, and she truly had that evasive, confused feel about her that I appreciated, as it was executed nicely. But the pace was really so, so awful. It feels like it was even a build-up just for Book 2 – no solid plot, just a foundation for when the plot finally happens… which started AT THE END OF THE BOOK. Ugh.

    Faye at The Social Potato

Leave a Reply

