Q’s & A’s with Miguel

It is time for Lightning Round.

So Rowan over at the Bodacious Book Babe – awesome lady with awesome taste in books! – nominated me for the Liebster Award and left some intriguing questions. Also, I think this is the makings of a new series here in the blog.

Worst book you’ve ever read?

Usually, I stop reading a book when I know it’s going to be a struggle for me to finish it. That way, I wouldn’t be wasting my time. But there is this one book, no, I meant series that I loathe so much. Ever heard of Hush, Hush?

Favourite book to movie adaptation?

Nothing can triumph the awesome that is The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.

Favourite fictional character of all time?

Probably Nikolai Lantsov from The Grisha. #lifegoals

Top three favourite fictional worlds/places?

In no particular order:

  1. The Shadowhunter World
  2. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore
  3. Promoria from Snow Like Ashes

What book are you reading right now? Which book do you wish you were reading right now?

I’m about to start Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – I know I’m pretty late, huh? And I wish were reading A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab right now. Have you seen the internet exploding over that book?!

If you could go on a date with one fictional character, who would it be and where would you go?

I’ll go on a date with Lola from Lola and the Boy Next Door because I think she’s rad like me and maybe we’d just stroll the San Francisco streets looking for interesting shops or maybe a diner that serves breakfast all day. #relationshipgoals

Who is your favorite fictional villain? Why?

The Darkling is the only villain I could think of at the top of my head.

Favorite and least favorite book series and why?

Favourite series would have to be The Grisha probably or the Gone series – if I ever finish reading the other books! And least favourite is a shocker actually: the Divergent series. I just think it would’ve been better if it were a standalone.

Who are some of your favourite bloggers and why?

This is a pretty hard question hahaha. Content-base (and maybe personality-wise too), it’d have to be Joey from Thoughts and Afterthoughts. Very cool and very intelligent guy aha. Also, a local fashion blogger: David Guison from DG MANILA. I just want his entire wardrobe. #stylegoals

Paperback, hardcover, or ebook?

Either is fine. I don’t have a preference really.

Top ten books you want to read this year?

There are a lot of them so these are the first that come to mind:

  1. Conviction by Kelly Loy Gilbert
  2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  3. We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach
  4. Confess by Colleen Hoover
  5. Denton Little’s Deathdate by Lance Rubin
  6. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
  7. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
  8. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
  9. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  10. Blood Passage by Heather Demetrios

That’s it for this episode’s Qs! I’d like to thank the following sponsors: Fall Out Boy for keeping me awake with their fantastic new album, my mom for cooking lunch, and our internet connection for not screwing everything up. Till next time.

 

4 thoughts on “Q’s & A’s with Miguel

  1. I totally agree about Divergent. I think if Veronica Roth had made a better ending for it then it could definitely have just been a stand-alone. The other books just didn’t really do it for me, especially Insurgent.
    I love the Gone series! The ending is so good! I had no idea how he was going to manage wrapping all those loose ends up, but Michael Grant is a writing wizard, that’s for sure!
    Congrats on the award! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the shout-out, Miggy! (Can I call you that LOL. It was a spur of the moment typing thing…)

    But yes, HG: CF was a legit adaptation. I really enjoyed Gone Girl too but I haven’t read the book to validate this claim (but, you know, Fincher is like *flailsarmswithfeels*).

  3. I wish I were reading A Darker Shade of Magic, too! I visited Fully Booked today and inquired but they unfortunately don’t have it yet. ARghhh!! Catching Fire was really good, yes. I actually really liked Mockingjay Part 1, too! Perhaps even more so than the CF 😄

    Faye at The Social Potato

  4. HAHA at Hush, Hush! That book was just horrible. Nora was one of the most annoying heroines I’ve ever read about.

    CATCHING FIRE WAS SO AMAZING. Definitely also my favorite book to movie adaptation of all time.

    Oh, I hope you enjoy Throne of Glass! I didn’t love it (I gave it 2 stars), but books 2 & 3 were much better. And I totally need ADSOM right now as well!

    Lots of the books you want to read are on my TBR this year, too! 🙂

    *FALL OUT BOY AHH*

Leave a Reply

