The Quirky Reader: A Retrospective

a retrospective
On the 26th of March 2014, The Quirky Reader was inaugurated. It was time of excitement and opportunity. And now, with one year of blogging in my belt, the excitement hasn’t dimmed nor the opportunities have ran out.

Prior to The Quirky Reader, I had a different book blog two years ago named booksmusicrandom. It was summertime and I remembered having the best time ever. Afternoons were spent drafting posts or brainstorming for content. But just like the summer, it can’t last forever. Eventually, I had to cease blogging because of school and other priorities.

Come January of 2014, I was sick and bored and decided to try blogging once more, but this time on Tumblr. My first legitimate book blog was called snaggletooth-reviews. I had a lot more fun this time because, duh, it’s Tumblr. I experimented with posts and content. And then the time came wherein I had to make a crucial choice: do I continue with this or do I just stop?

I honestly thought I wouldn’t last a month after I officially planted my flag on WordPress (Fun fact: when I transferred blogging platforms, I used the name The Spectacular Print before deciding that it doesn’t feel me and switching to The Quirky Reader instead.) But every day I found motivation to continue thanks to the lovely authors and bloggers and bookish people I’ve met along the way. *segues to dedication*

A shoutout to these fabulous bookish people whom I’ve had the pleasure of interacting with during my blogging beginnings: A.J. Pine, Megan Erickson, Heather Van Fleet, Rebekah Crane, Jen Halligan, Elizabeth Fama, and René Gilley. 

Another shoutout to these awesome bloggers who continue to inspire me and motivate me to keep moving forward: Hazel, Faye, Aimee, Kevin, Dianne, Joey, Emily, Dre, and Ella. You are all simply amazing.

And finally a shoutout to all the people who dropped by my blog during the past year. It always brightens my day when I see people from all over the world read my words.

I don’t know what’s in store for me in the future, but one thing’s for sure: I’m taking a lot of things from this awesome experience.

HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY TO THE QUIRKY READER!

10 thoughts on “The Quirky Reader: A Retrospective

  1. Awwww happy blogoversary Miguel! Congrats on this new milestone, I definitely understand the whole leaving the blog for school, I just did that huhu, but I’m glad to be back and I can’t wait to interact more with you! 😀 Hope to see your more in the next years! 😀

  2. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY, MIGUEL! 🙂 First off, I just wanted to mention how I envy your fabulous name-picking skills. I love “The Spectacular Print” and of course “The Quirky Reader.” 😉 Congratulations on this amazing milestone, and thank you so much for remembering me! 😀

  3. Being part of an online, or rather worldwide, community is a really neat thing that in all of the time we immerse ourselves in different perspectives on life, there’s still time to mingle with people you’ll [likely] never meet in a space that [generally] cultivates positivity. Solid work, team Internet.

    And much congrats on a year of blogging success; you’re basically a professional now after passing that one year hurdle. Keep doing quirky, Miggy.

    Cheers,
    Joey

  4. Wheeeee, happy blogoversary, Miguel! I’m happy to know that I’m one of the people who inspired you and keep on inspiring you. Never let that flame of passion die, my friend. It will be what will keep you doing, what will drive you, what will motivate you, to do the things that you want to do. If you want, I’m happy to sponsor a blogoversary giveaway for you! I’m willing to send a mystery book to a PH reader 😉 Let me know if this strikes your fancy! xoxo

    Faye at The Social Potato

  5. Miguel! Happy blogoversary to you and to The Quirky Reader! *confetti* *pom-poms* Thank you for mentioning me here and I feel glad that I met you because of book blogging, ye of awesome music tastes (and books, of course!). To more years for TQR!

  6. Woohoo! Congrats on your first bloggiversary, Migs (can I call you Migs?)! There is seriously a lot to take from this wonderful community and I cannot be happier that we’re all a part of it (shout outs to Hazel, Joey and Dianne, too!). So here’s to reading more books, writing more posts, meeting more people and, basically, staying awesome! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

