One Night by A.J. Pine

One Night by A.J. Pine

Release Date: April 21st 2015 by InterMix

Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Series: Only You #1

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

When she lost it all, Jess decided to cope by living a lie.  But you can’t keep on pretending forever… Twenty-one-year-old Jess used to have everything—a loyal best friend, a boyfriend she loved, and a future that was right on track. But in a single night, her whole world changed. Now, Jess lives for the impersonal connection of drunken hook-ups and to-go coffee cups in the morning. All she needs is one night to pretend everything is fine…until she meets Adam. Thanks to a sports injury, gorgeous, charming basketball star Adam Carson is stuck in physical therapy at the hospital where Jess interns—giving her the perfect opportunity to see his sweet, considerate nature and making her realize that maybe she does want something more. But while Adam might be the best thing that’s happened to Jess in a long time, letting him past her carefully constructed walls means letting him know what happened…and why he’d never want her for more than one night.

My Review.

What I love about A.J. Pine’s work is that she seems to stray away from the genre norm. Although I’ve probably read different versions of this story, she still manages give her own take that is both familiar and refreshing.

One Night is one of those books that boasts a secret, but it won’t tell you what it is. Upon reading, you’ll be confused on why our narrator, Jess, is the way she is. She sleeps with random men because she fears commitment; but what instilled that fear into her mind? She keeps everyone at an arm’s length, but why? Well, you’ll just have to read it for yourself. I wasn’t particularly fond of Jess’s character mainly because of how pathetic she seems to always be throughout the novel. It’s like there’s a permanent rain cloud suspended over head the whole time.

Adam, on the other hand, was a darling. Though not the most memorable love interest out there, he certainly is one of the better ones. I love the banter between them and how it eventually blossomed to flirting and then — to love. I thought the build was excellently done, and I’m also glad Pine didn’t take the instalove route. With Adam being a hotshot basketball player, you’d already see those red flags.

There’s also an interesting set of minor characters. My favourite was Zoe – Jess’s roommate. I loved her spunky personality and just the way she handles situations differently. She seems like a good person to be around in real life. I also liked Regan – who was like the thirteen year-old version of Zoe. She gets my sassy approval.

As far as the story is concerned, I noticed it was lacking the quirkiness (YO!) I enjoyed in Pine’s other novels, If Only and What If. But I think the maturity of One Night is what makes up for that loss. This book is certainly way up there in the NA shelf. I highly recommend this book and this amazing author.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. 4 stars

2 thoughts on “One Night by A.J. Pine

  1. I’ll admit, this does sound awfully cliche based on the synopsis, but I love how you mentioned that the author still manages to put her own spin to it. 🙂

    Jess does sound kind of annoying. Personally, the sleeping with many guys thing almost never works for me–most of the reasons behind them are kind of shallow.

    Adam sounds great though, and I’m always game for a finely-paced romance. 😉

    Glad you enjoyed this overall, Miguel!

  2. Awww, no quirkiness?! I’ve seen alot of mature NA, I need some quirkiness in my life right now! Haha. Like Aimee, I don’t really like reading about heroines who sleep around a lot because COMMITMENT IS SCARY, but Adam makes me want to go for it anyway 😀

    Faye at The Social Potato

Leave a Reply

