Top Ten All Time Favourite Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the awesome people over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s theme is going to kill me and my emotions. TOP TEN AUTHORS. NOOOOOOOOO. To make things easier for me, this list is in no particular order.

robyn schneiderRobyn is an evil little elf. She manages to make me both cry AND laugh in her books. TWICE EVEN. But all is forgiven if she continues to write quirky characters in the most exhilarating life situations. How I wish she would write the story of my life…

megan ericksonMegan Erickson is a pioneer (well, at least in my eyes). She introduced me to this sub-genre that I didn’t know existed which is smart NA. Her characters are refreshing and SMART as well as her stories. She certainly deserves more recognition and readers for her work. I mean, SHE’S REINVENTING THE DEFINITION OF NERDY. Love ya, Megan.

michael grantQuite possibly my favourite male author of all-time. Michael Grant’s Gone series reminds me so much of my childhood. Where I believed in superheroes and normal kids with kickass superpowers. Those were my kind of thing back then, and it still is.

elizabeth famaThis woman right here knows how to undo me with her powerful words. If you have not read Monstrous Beauty, then what have you been reading??? I really want to meet her in person (and maybe take her away to my basement and force to write books for my pleasure).

aj pineSame with Megan, she’s another pioneer in smart NA for me. What I love most about Pine’s novels is the raw emotions being conveyed by the characters. They make me feel all the feelings. And I think I’ve mentioned this before but I consider her as the Stephanie Perkins of NA. You go, girl.

robin sloanEarlier last year, I read his monumental novel Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, and let me tell you: I was not myself when I was reading that book. It’s one of those books that cater to every single fantasy you’ve dreamt of in a perfect book. In other words, this is my Quirky Book. I can’t wait to read more of Robin Sloan’s words.

rebekah craneWhen I look back at my early blogging days, I think of Rebekah Crane. She’s one of the very first authors I’ve interacted with. She’s the first author who quoted one of my reviews for a blurb. She’s the first author I’ve beta-read. She’s my first in everything (though the double meaning sounds explicitly wrong). And of course I LOVEEEEE her books. I’d probably make a shrine for them.

rosamund hodgeCruel. Manipulating. Addicting. Trust me when I say I’m describing her books and not a steamy NA novel. Cruel because of the way she treats her characters and the situations they’re put in. Manipulating because you’d think you got everything figured out. And addicting because you don’t want to put her books down.

maggie stiefvaterThis author may come as a surprise. It was only after reading The Dream Thieves that I realised how much I love Maggie Stiefvater. I’ve read her werewolf trilogy, Shiver, and even though I wasn’t particularly fond of the story, I was still so invested especially with her characters. The same with the Raven Cycle. And I think that’s her strength: writing unforgettable characters.

leigh bardugoOh Leigh. I have a lot to say to this evil author, but for now I want to say thank you. Thank you for writing the Grisha Trilogy. Thank you for reviving my love for fantasy and its complicated worlds. But most of all, thank you for writing Nikolai Lantsov aka Sturmhond. The YA world is a better place with him.

I KNOW IT SUCKS TO PLAY FAVOURITES BUT WHO ARE SOME OF YOUR FAVOURITE AUTHORS??? TELL ME DOWN BELOW!

22 thoughts on “Top Ten All Time Favourite Authors

  1. Clearly I need to carry on reading Michael Grant’s books – I’ve read Gone so far and really like it. And a big yes to Maggie and Leigh! They write the BEST characters. 😀

  2. I love Maggie Stiefvater & Leigh Bardugo! Both are incredible writers. I’m really curious about Make it Count, it sounds like a fun read. And I’ve been wanting to read Rosamund Hodge for a while now. Great list!

  3. LOVE your graphics!!! Those are awesome! And YAY, another Michael Grant fan! I feel as though no one else really knows about him here in the book blogging world. I started reading his Gone series when I was in middle school and I read the other books the day after they were released, practically. Waiting a year in between books was torture! Anyways, great list!

  4. Haha! I’m actually considering the basement offer… It might be the only way I’ll finish my current manuscript! (And now the locked basement makes me think of the movie Ruthless People, and I want to watch it again.)
    THANK YOOOOU MIGUEL!

  5. I LOVE your graphics! So creative!
    I love so many of your picks, some that I have been meaning to read, and a couple new to me.
    Maggie is on my list this week as well! And I LOVE Rosamund Hodge and Leigh Bardugo!
    I really need to read Michael Grant. And I have The Beginning of Everything, I think I am going to read it this summer.
    Great list!
    Stephanie @ My Bookish Itinerary My TTT

  6. This is an awesome list created in THE MOST AWESOME WAY! Obsessed with your graphics. So many of these are on my TBR list.

  7. I ADORE Hodge, Steifvater and Bardugo! ❤ I can't wait to read Crimson Bound (IT'S SO PRETTY!!!!) and while I didn't like Shiver, I LOVE her Raven Cycle (much like you. Though I didn't even finish the shiver trilogy) and Leigh Bardugo is freaking awesome!
    Great post!
    ~Fari 0:)

  8. LOVE how you laid this post out! Some books on here I have that I need to read yet, and some I’ve heard of but haven’t looked any further into them. The TBR expands rapidly!! R x

  9. I love that we agree on Maggie Stiefvater! I have just read The Raven Cycle series and I am in love with her writing style, I have learned so many new words reading her books! Lol Also, I looooove the graphics, and the way you used the heart eyes emoji, really creative! 🙂

  10. Before, I didn’t get the hype around Rosamund Hodge as I wasn’t enamoured by her Cruel Beauty book, but after reading her Crimson Bound she became an insta-buy. HOLY SMOKES THAT BOOK WAS AWESOME.

    Faye at The Social Potato

  11. I like that your list has most names I don’t recognize. But Robyn Schneider, right? RIGHT? I want to hang out with Ezra and Toby and the gang! Gaah. And the (omg I will get this wrong) Floating Cinema! But, dude, that thing you wanna do with Elizabeth Fama is kind of disturbing. Also, I want to read Mr. Penumbra’s!

    Most of my fave authors are mainstream but, whatever: Harper Lee, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Alex London, Stephen Chbosky and Rick Riordan. Recent one is Andrew Smith.

    PS. How do you even pronounce Maggie’s last name?

      1. Someone told me that she thinks Mr. Penumbra’s will appeal especially to me. So there’s that. And Go Set a Watchman comes out is less than 2 months! And thanks for Steve-vah-ter!

Leave a Reply

