Vendetta by Catherine Doyle

Vendetta by Catherine Doyle

Release Date: January 1st 2015 by Chicken House Ltd

Genres: Thriller, Romance

Series: Blood for Blood #1

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

When it comes to revenge, love is a dangerous complication.With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the deadliest thing Sophie could do. An epic debut set outside modern-day Chicago.

When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion in her neighbourhood, Sophie Gracewell’s life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nicoli, Sophie finds herself falling into a criminal underworld governed by powerful families. As the boys’ dark secrets begin to come to light, Sophie is confronted with stinging truths about her own family, too. She must choose between two warring dynasties – the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break.

My Review.

I can’t even begin to describe how weird the reading experience was for this book. So let’s break this review into two parts namely Act I and Act II.

ACT I

Enter the main characters: Sophie Gracewell and the Falcone brothers.

The first half of the book was surprisingly fluffy and a bit dull compared to what I had expected. I’m guessing Catherine took this time to introduce everyone properly so she can pull whatever surprise she had in store later. There’s also a looming mystery behind Sophie’s father, who is in prison after he supposedly murdered someone. What could this be?

Sophie was another dull moment. I’m sorry to say that she wasn’t a memorable character for me. Near the end though she shows some exciting display of impulse and recklessness that made me admire her…a little. But hey, this is only the first book, maybe we’ll see more of her wild side in the next. I hope.

And then we have the reverse harem. There are five Falcone brothers but only two are given the main spotlight while the other three are offered glimpses. Let’s assess each brother, shall we?

  • Nic – The main love interest and well, I thought he was…nice.
  • Luca – Brooding and confusing as all heck. But I sort of liked the air of mystery around his character.
  • Gino and Dom – Can’t say much about them since there given less screen time.
  • Valentino – Now HE is the most interesting brother of them all. There’s certainly something cruel that lies beneath that pretty face…

ACT II

Now this is where things start to get exciting and scary.

I know this book is about the Mafia but what I wasn’t prepared for what I was about to read. In the blink of an eye, this book shifted from innocent contemporary to terrifying thriller. I swear Doyle’s description of the Falcone family’s history of killing and the Mafia had me at the edge of my seat. I give mad props to her for that.

The last few chapters were terrifyingly action-packed and it was soooo well-executed that it felt like watching a thrilling crime show wherein the good guys defeat the bad guys. Although here it’s hard to say who’s the good guy and the bad guy.

Ending.

Overall, I quite liked Vendetta even though it didn’t meet my expectations. I want to give the sequel a chance because there’s so much room for improvement here. I was already invested with the characters when the ending came rolling in. I would definitely recommend this if you’re in the mood for something different in YA. Trust me, this book is not what it seems.

3.5 stars

6 thoughts on “Vendetta by Catherine Doyle

  1. So glad you at least ended up enjoying this more than I did, Miguel! 🙂 A lot of the beginning was definitely dull for me. It read more like a typical YA romance than a thriller. But by the end, I’ll admit that there were a few twists that surprised me. 🙂

  2. I’ve never heard of this one before but if I ever feel like I need something really refreshing, I know where I’ll be looking! It’s good that the second half kinda redeemed it self in a way, Miguel! Nice review xD

  3. To be honest, with that kind of cover, it’s kind of hard to imagine that this one would be chock-full of thrills and suspense! I had thought it was some sort of contemporary, too, but it looks like this has more mafia than HOLD ME LIKE A BREATH which was a complete disaster if you ask me lol. Aimee didn’t end up enjoying this as much as you did but it’s up for reconsideration in my book!

    Faye at The Social Potato

Leave a Reply

