Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Release Date:  May 21st 2015 by Macmillan

Genres: Fantasy, Magic

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood’s powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows – everyone knows – that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia – all the things Agnieszka isn’t – and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him.

My Review.

Uprooted is a high-octane adult fantasy novel of epic magical proportions. I fear I won’t give this book any justice because of my simple words compared to the book’s extraordinary ones. If you’re iffy about reading this because it’s adult fantasy – and that sort of thing intimidates you like it does to me – don’t worry. This book, surprisingly, reads like a normal YA novel. Novik doesn’t try too hard to blow you away with terminologies; she rather lets the story do the job for her.

So what is Uprooted about anyway? Well, I won’t tell you because a) I’m not very good at summarising things and b) it’ll ruin all the fun! But don’t let the synopsis fool you. It’s more than just Agnieszka or the Dragon. It’s this exhilarating tale of epic (take note: epic) magic and politics and darkness. 

What makes Uprooted so readable and enjoyable for me is our narrator, Agnieszka. Trust me, you will love her voice. She’s fierce and smart and witty – especially with the Dragon. I also really adored her relationship with Kasia, her best friend. Hands down, the strongest friendship I have ever read in a book.  The Dragon, on the other hand, reminded me a little bit of the Darkling (from the Grisha) and Ignifex (from Cruel Beauty). He had this villainous and dictatorial air to him like the Darkling but also this subtle gentleness like Ignifex. Oh and he is very sassy.

This may sound weird but one of my favourite things about Uprooted was the antagonist aka the Wood. It’s a bloody scary thing that forcibly takes away people and destroys them. It reminded of the Shadow Fold from the Grisha. Now can you see why I loved this book so much?

I hope I successfully convinced you to read this book because if not, I’ll probably be banging at your door screaming READ THIS BOOK HEY. But seriously though, I cannot recommend this enough. Go forth and read!

18 thoughts on “Uprooted by Naomi Novik

  1. I am such a HUGE reader of this genre!!!!!!!!!!!! ….okay that’s a lie. The last Fantasy book I read is The Witch Hunter (which I loved. go and read it!!!) and that’s not even heavy stuff. But, I am intrigued though. Aimee and Faye loved this book too. Great review Miguel!!!

    p.s.
    I’m in a phase right now where I use a lot of this -> !!!!!!!!!! to make a point.

    1. p.p.s.

      You better read The Witch Hunter because it’s epic and I recommended it and I’ll hunt you down. I don’t care where you are. I have s have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that’ll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will— SORRY I GOT CARRIED AWAY. Just read the book thanks <333333

      p.p.p.s
      Yes I am watching TAKEN right now

  2. Okay so:
    A) DO NOT read The Witch Hunter because it is a waste of time. I’ll protect you from Paula and her “skills.” (No worries, though, she’s a sweetheart, if she gets upset the worst she’ll do is just sigh loudly.)
    B) Uprooted sounds fucking fantastic. I want to read the Dragon and Agnieszka’s banter so bad! Damn!
    C) Your reviews make me want to pick up each and every book you feature.

    Rhea out.

  3. Hey, Paula, we can take down Rhea together. She’s like a witch hunter. We’re Nicolas’s people. But, srsly Miggy, read The Witch Hunter.

    As for Uprooted… I totally thot it was YA when I requested it! But, alas, no. I love the wood part but there were less than stellar elements for me. So.

    PS. Just delete the “Hey” comment. Accidentally touched the “reply” button.

  4. I know! The Wood was really creepy, wasn’t it? I adore the writing in this novel, but I do admit that it was a bit exhausting when I read it for the first time… so much that I had to take a break halfway through XD;; I still haven’t picked it up for the second time, but I will!!

    Faye at The Social Potato

  5. Sounds like you loved this book as much as I did! I really thought it was YA, but hey, it doesn’t really seem to make much of a difference. I also isn’t talk about a lot of the plot in my review besides the synopsis, because I really loved the way so much unfolded that I couldn’t have imagined from the beginning! Also you made two comparisons that I used myself too! The Dragon does remind me of the Darkling, but more yielding and not nearly as jaded. And the Wood to me seemed so much like the Fold, but infinitely creepier! I was talking with someone about how the book reminds me of so many of the fantasies I love, but instead of making it boring in that way, it felt completely new and amazing!

  6. Aww yess, actual supportive friendships are always amazing to read about! And you had me at The Dragon being like The Darkling (a character I wanted to see so much more of ;_;) so I’m definitely going to pick this up to see more of that antihero style.

  7. Okay so I love this version of the cover SO much better than the other version which makes it look more like a MG novel (not that that’s a bad thing – but it confuses me, okay?)

    Lovely review, Miguel!!

  8. This sounds like a fun book, I do love dragons and the cover is really pretty but simple. Nice review, I’ll be adding this to me list!

Leave a Reply

