Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

Emmy & OliverEmmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

Release Date: June 23rd 2015 by HarperTeen

Genres: Contemporary, Romance

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?

Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life.She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.

Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart.

He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing and his thoughts swirling.

Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?

My Review.

The only time I was full on smiling from ear-to-ear and giggling like a schoolgirl was when I was reading Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares. I thought: when am I going to read a book that will make me feel like that again? And like out of nowhere, comes Robin Benway with her exceptional new novel. Emmy & Oliver definitely has my stamp of approval including an #AllTheFeels badge and tons of multicolored balloons.

I’ve been craving this book ever since it was just a title on Goodreads. There wasn’t even a synopsis or clues to whatever this book might be about! I just stuck with my gut feeling that this was going to be amazing and after reading the first chapter, I was pretty much thankful for my gut.

Since I’m pretty sure I won’t be making any sense with a traditional review, it’s time for another edition of ye old What I Liked/What I Didn’t Like.

What I Liked:

  • The cast of characters. THEY WERE SO HILARIOUS AND AMAZING AND SASSY AND WITTY OH MY GOSH I CAN’T STOP WITH THE CAPS LOCK. They all deserve an Oscar, really. If you love fun characters that do all the fun things together, then this might be your book.
  • The writing style. This is my first Robin Benway title and I wasn’t sure what to expect other than the norm when it comes to contemporary YA. So this is the part where I freak out about how different it was and blah blah blah. AND IT WAS, MIND YOU. She didn’t dramatize the plot even though it was begging to be so. I also noticed that Benway didn’t give any specific physical descriptions of the characters. And for once, I appreciate not knowing how hot or how gorgeous a character is.
  • The underlying themes of family and rekindled friendship. The title Emmy & Oliver doesn’t really do the book any justice. It’s not just about Emmy and Oliver, it’s about Emmy and Oliver and Friends and Family and Suburbia. It was very introspective for a YA novel that’s being angled as a romantic coming-of-age tale.
  • The smooth flow of the story. There was never a dull moment I promise you.

There is honestly nothing that I didn’t like about this book. I still think the title is a bit misleading though (#itsjustatitlemiguel). Anyway, definitely get excited for this book if you love contemporary YA. I assure you the feels are very much legit and very too much.

It’s still early in the year to name favorites, but one thing’s for sure: I’ve got a blank space baby, and I’ll write Emmy & Oliver on my list. *pen clicks*

13 thoughts on “Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

  1. Man I feel so bad to say that I’ve never read YA contemporary before. (THE NERVE OF ME, RIGHT??) hehe but I’ve seen other review on the is book and they were all gushing about it so I think yours has sealed the deal. I’m going to try this one out. It’ll be my first YA contemporary. Let’s see how this goes. 🙂

  2. EEEP. You’re making me flail all over again Miguel 😛 I absolutely adore this book, and I can’t wait to get my finished copy in the mail so I can read it and squee all over again. I’d definitely put it on my “favorites” list as well. Now I just need a sequel, and my life will be complete.

  3. #itsjustatitlemiguel STOP OMG, you had me laughing out loud with that hashtag. I want your gut. That sounds so creepy but what I mean is: I want this ability of yours to trust a book is going to be great without having a bit of information on it.

    I love that it’s more than a romance book, you know? It’s so great to see more books that deal with more issues coming out.

    I AM EXCITED NOW. GOOD JOB ,MIGUEL. Another book to add to my list. sigh.

  4. I have heard so many great things about this book. It is nice to see that you liked it so well and don’t have anything negative. That is very encouraging. I am looking forward to reading this at some point. I have a lot of other books to clean up this summer first. Lovely review.

  5. Haha you have my pretty convinced that i need this book in my life! I have an arc of this on my kindle so I shall pick this one up ASAP. Loving the sound of these characters <33

  6. This is definitely one of the best contemporary reads I’ve read to date. I love just how low-key the drama was, how realistic it all felt and how quiet it was even if it was a drama you’d expect to blow out of proportion. So glad to see you loved this one, too, Miguel!

    Faye at The Social Potato

  7. I’ve been looking for good contemporary reads to branch out from the comfy zone that is fantasy. This one sounds great, thank you for sharing your thoughts 🙂

Leave a Reply

