We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

Release Date:  March 24th 2015 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Genres: Contemporary, Science Fiction

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

Before the asteroid we let ourselves be defined by labels:
The athlete, the outcast, the slacker, the overachiever. 

But then we all looked up and everything changed. 

They said it would be here in two months. That gave us two months to leave our labels behind. Two months to become something bigger than what we’d been, something that would last even after the end. 

Two months to really live.

My Review.

Ambiguity can be a strong weapon to attract attention. You think you’ve figured everything out, but the truth is you didn’t. There are thousands of possibilities out there and you just thought of one. And that’s how I felt like reading this book; it wasn’t what I had expected yet at the same time it was.

When I saw the cover for this book, it definitely caught my eye. It stood out among the others. And when I read the synopsis, I admit I was a bit perplexed. It was so vague and so obvious that Wallach purposely chose not to reveal any of his book’s secrets. It was a clever ploy because it worked.

This book doesn’t prepare you for its extreme rawness and realness, and a majority of that came from the characters. They exhibited all the pains of a maturing teenager: being isolated from everyone, the pressure from your parents, life after high school. That’s why I identified with them so freaking much.

But we shouldn’t forget the star of the show: the asteroid that is supposed to destroy all mankind. I think without it this book would’ve been so special. It would be boring to be honest. It’s just that the looming threat of an apocalypse gives you this intense sense of urgency. Everybody was pretty much destroying each other after the news broke out. And that incited so many frustrating emotions from me. I was honestly shouting at my Kindle while reading.

And as I neared the end, I was anxious because how the heck will Wallach finish this? Again there are thousands of possibilities, thousands of outcomes. But after turning the last page, I was shocked and relieved: it wasn’t what I had expected yet at the same time it was.

We All Looked Up is an important book. It deals with so many complicated themes and manages to wrap everything up in three hundred pages or so. I hope everybody gets a chance to read this especially teenagers.

Closer Than You Know by Hillsong UNITED

This book deals with faith. I don’t mean religion – because that’s an entirely different thing – but I mean faith. One of the characters is a Christian and I was really elated because as a Christian myself, I feel like there hasn’t been any YA book out that did justice in portraying faith so accurately. And I am grateful for that.

So the whole time I was reading, this song kept playing on my head. The atmosphere and the lyrics of this song reminded me of end times and jumping into that great unknown. I actually cried a little while I was reading. There’s just so much to take away in both this book and this song.

10 thoughts on “We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

  1. Okay, I’ll admit that I’m one of the weird people who weren’t drawn to the cover or the synopsis, but after reading so many positive reviews for this, it definitely found a spot on my TBR. I’m kind of glad to know this book deals with serious and important issues–YA needs more books like this. And I’m VERY curious about the ending!

  2. Yay!!!! I’m glad you enjoyed this more than I did. Haha! I actually like the Christian character as well! Although there were some things that didn’t work for me, I have to agree with some of your points in here. Great review bro! *fist bump*

Leave a Reply

