Miguel’s Playlist (1)

miguel's playlist

So if you know me or you’ve probably been stalking me online for a few months now, then you might’ve already picked up on the fact that music is life for me. It’s something I’m really passionate about. And today I’m here to introduce a new feature blatantly called Miguel’s Playlist. As the title says, I’m going to talk about the music that I love and how I soundtrack books and whatnot. If you’re into that kind of stuff, please do hang around for more awesome.

Since this my first playlist (I’ll be referring to these posts as playlists from now on), I thought why not share my all-time favourite music catalogue? Well, um, because it’s the only list that can rival my TBR. But I’ll try to condense everything neatly so.

MIGUEL’S ALL-TIME FAVOURITES PLAYLIST

taylor swift

TAYLOR SWIFT

Started from the bottom now we’re here, whuuuut. I’ve been a Swiftie for as long as I can remember (since 5th grade) and a lot of my friends don’t know this about me. I like keeping it a secret just to see their incredulous faces. Anyway. Taylor Swift = probably my favourite solo artist of all-time.

florence and the machine

FLORENCE + THE MACHINE

The reason why they’re my favourite band of all-time is because of the fact they’re the most unique band out there. I know many of you might argue with me but come on, is there anyone out there with the prowess of Florence Welch or the grand arrangements of their songs? I don’t think so. Plus I like to think they fill that musical void in my heart.

hillsong united

HILLSONG UNITED

If there’s a band that could revolutionise the world, I’d pick Hillsong UNITED. They have the gift of sharp and heartfelt lyricism and they unlocked the art of masterful and tasteful production (re: Empires). Really God has blessed this band and I pray their songs reach all nations.

paramore

PARAMORE

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been a hardcore Paramore fan. They’re the best type of band: headbanging-until-your-brain-hurts kind of music. And it has been an impossible dream of mine to sing Misery Business with them onstage.

twenty one pilots

TWENTY ONE PILOTS

And lastly, there’s Twenty One Pilots also known as The Quirky Band. If I were to make my own music, it’ll sound just like them. What makes them stand out for me is their passionate lyrics. Although every artist out there conveys meaningful messages through their songs, TOP does it in such a unique manner: through eclectic poem rapping. Doesn’t that sound so awesome?

I hope y’all enjoyed this new feature! Tell me down below if you listen to any of the artists above and I shall be your friend and share some of your fave artists!

 

 

14 thoughts on “Miguel’s Playlist (1)

  1. I’d never heard of some of these artists before but I am definitely going to check them out! I do love Paramore and Florence + The Machine as well. I really this idea of playlists. 🙂

  2. I’ve heard of some of these and I had a very brief Paramore phase last year. I love Hayley’s voice though and I still have some of their songs floating around on my iPod. But recently I’ve liked music that is a lot rougher vocally so I’ve been listening to a lot of Halestorm and Pierce the Veil. I’ve never heard of Twenty One Pilots or Hillsong United but I’ll be checking them out. Just a question but is Hillsong United a female fronted band? I’ve been meaning to check out more bands with female leads.

  3. Red is such a solid album. It’s my favourite Taylor Swift album as well although it’s so difficult to pick. But it’s the first one that I really truly fell in love with. There are just so many beautiful songs on that album like All Too Well, State of Grace (probably one of Taylor’s best lyrically. I JUST SWOON OVER THAT SONG), Treacherous, etc etc.

    I don’t listen to the other artists on your list very much although there have been a few songs by each that I like. I guess besides Taylor Swift, I really love Phoenix, Of Monsters and Men, Ben Howard, MisterWives, Kendrick Lamar and The Royal Concept. At least, those are the artists I’m listening to a lot of right now!

  4. Amen to Florence and The Machine. Seriously, Florence and The Machine is my favorite of all the favorites. I listen to a little of everything; I don’t listen to a bunch of one thing besides FATM. I’ll include everything I was into though. Florence and The Machine. Jeff Buckley. The Beatles. 3Oh!3. Used to be into Kelly Clarkson. Taylor Swift (of course). I keep saying I’m not a Swiftie, but I’ve been listening to her music since I was a child. Around 15/Fearless. Does that count? Lol. a little Tove Lo, a little Sia. Birdy. A little Twenty One Pilots. Coldplay. OneRepublic. Imagine Dragons. Of Monsters And Men. Franz Ferdinand. Walk The Moon. Paramore. A little FOB. A little My Chemical Romance. A little Bastille. The Script was way back when; but I loved it. I used to listen to some Adam Lambert. Seinabo Sey. More, but now I’m wasting your time, lol. Sorry!

  5. Florence is my queen! I mean, seriously, that band is utterly amazing, and their latest album is just glorious. Right now, I’m pretty much obsessed with anything by Of Monsters and Men (especially their latest album), Daughter, Purity Ring, Broods, and Lecrae. Tove Lo and Banks also have some really nice vocals. This is a really cool feature, by the way! Can’t wait to see more 🙂

  6. You had me at Taylor Swift. I’ve been a Swiftie since her Fearless days and I think, no, scratch that, I know I’ve been the loudest fan in my classes in college. All Too Well is also a favorite of mine from Red! But as for the album, I’m torn between Speak Now and 1989. I mean, I’m prolly more 1989 these days. But Speak Now will always hold a very special piece of my hearts of hearts.

    Florence + the Machine is that band I want to hear more from but still haven’t. I really like Cosmic Love, What Kind of Man and Over the Love. Also, Paramore, right? I’ve had the Misery Business is My Anthem phase. Haha!

    Have you listened to The Honey Trees?

  7. I regularly listen to and love Florence and Paramore, though Paramore is gaining a lot of love from me at the moment. The other artists… I don’t listen to/haven’t heard, although I did one time listen to Swift a heck of a lot.
    Sharing artists you love is so great, though, especially if you’re particularly passionate about music, and I really like the way you did this! I’d recommend you try listening to The Civil Wars. They’re one of my favourites. x

  8. Oh Miguel, what a great post. I can already tell I will be checking these always. 1989 was the album that made me love Taylor Swift, I think I am a fan of hers now. The love I have for that album is crazy I feel like it shows how much Taylor has grown up. I love Florence + The Machine too! I think Which Witch is my favorite song of this album. Their music is so ahhhhhhh ohhhhh *tries to sing like Florence, fails* I LOVE ADORE Oceans by Hillsong United, but I have to actually listen to their music because I found this song by going to church. I’m not a huge Paramore fan but I like their music! i have to make more of an effort, I think. Andddd I haven’t heard of twenty one pilots, so thank you for introducing me to new artists!

  9. your music taste is amazing! I love literally all of these people (and yes, taylor swift is a guilty pleasure of mine…along with McFly) but especially twenty one pilots, paramore and florence and the machine (question – do you listen to any of these: Fun., Linkin Park, Flyleaf, Tom O’Dell, Arctic Monkeys, Kasabian, MCR, Passenger…okay, I’m going to stop now) – although the new Florence and the Machine album is a bit weaker than her other ones there are a few AMAZING songs (which witch, queen of peace and delilah) .. I’m going to stop typing now.

  10. ALL THESE!

    We have the same taste *high five*

    I really like 1989 and Red for diff reasons so I’m tied. Also her older, country-ish albums give me nostalgia. It’s like picking a fave child!!!

    Florence is amazing. I was watching her Coachella performance and I can’t even deal with how much I love her music.

    twenty one pilots is amazing. kitchen sink makes me very emotional. i also really like car radio because of its emotion and LOOOOOOOVE Tear In My Heart/The Judge for their catchy tunes.

    Some more I would add are Halsey, Xylo, Marina and the Diamonds, Sir Sly, Propellers, Smallpools, A Silent Film and Bastille. I can’t get enough of these artists.

Leave a Reply

