Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the awesome people over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s theme is all about my top ten books for this year so far.

2015 faves dos

CRIMSON BOUND BY ROSAMUND HODGE

“There is no one out there writing magical retellings and vast mythologies like Rosamund Hodge does. It’s a fact you’ll soon realise once you read her books.”

MORE HAPPY THAN NOT BY ADAM SILVERA

“This book is such a wrecking ball of force to the heart. This book is a wake-up call to the cruelty of society. This book is everything we never realized until now.”

EXTRAORDINARY MEANS BY ROBYN SCHNEIDER

“Robyn Schneider is a godsend to the YA universe. I can’t imagine her books not existing. That’s why I’m pushing you and everybody else reading this review to check this woman’s work. Believe me when I say this: her words are extraordinary.”

2015 faves tres

UPROOTED BY NAOMI NOVIK

“Uprooted is a high-octane adult fantasy novel of epic magical proportions. I fear I won’t give this book any justice because of my simple words compared to the book’s extraordinary ones…Novik doesn’t try too hard to blow you away with terminologies; she rather lets the story do the job for her.”

THE OFF THE MAP SERIES BY LIA RILEY

“All in all, the Off the Map series is a great testament that what is once lost will always be found……..but really, go read this series. You won’t regret it.”

PLAY ON BY MICHELLE SMITH

“Never have I encountered a male voice in YA that is Austin Braxton. He was such a refreshing and realistic character. His inner dialogue is what made me enjoy the read even more! He’s full of charisma, wit, and spunk – all in all, the formula for my favourite kind of characters.”

2015 faves uno

EMMY & OLIVER BY ROBIN BENWAY

“Emmy & Oliver definitely has my stamp of approval including an #AllTheFeels badge and tons of multicolored balloons.”

MAGONIA BY MARIA DAHVANA HEADLEY

I don’t have review up for this one but let me just tell you that this book is freaking Epic. That’s right. Capitalised E-P-I-C. You don’t want to miss out on the Epic.

THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE BY LEILA SALES

“Reading this book was both the best and worst experience for me. The most prevalent emotion I felt was frustration. I was frustrated with the story, I was frustrated with the characters, I was frustrated with Elise’s situation. But I was most frustrated with how it felt like I was reading my very own biography.”

WE ALL LOOKED UP BY TOMMY WALLACH

“We All Looked Up is an important book. It deals with so many complicated themes and manages to wrap everything up in three hundred pages or so. I hope everybody gets a chance to read this especially teenagers.”

WHAT ARE YOUR TOP TEN BOOKS OF 2015 SO FAR? 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015

  1. This TTT is going to absolutely inflate my TBR, I’m so excited!!

    Great picks. I’m excited to check out Uprooted, More Happy than Not and Crimson Bound.

  2. Guess what I am doing right after I finish writing this comment?! Checking out all these books on goodreads so I can add MORE books to my TBR list. You’re making me excited for all of the books I wil be reading during the second half of the year! eeeep

  3. A++ to Crimson Bound! I adored that book. I think it made it to my list today as well! And if not, shame on me 😉

    I already need to reread Emmy & Oliver and it’s hardly been a month since I finished it! Love that book so much!

  4. Oh man, I’m terrible. I’ve read only ONE of the books on your list!! I absolutely adored This Song Will Save Your Life. Leila Sales’ writing just kinda punches you in the feels. I recently got an ARC of her next book, and I have to say, I’m so excited to read it.

    I’ve been meaning to pick up Extraordinary means for such a long time! Since you say her words are extraordinary, seems like I’ll have to read a book by her soon. 😀 I actually won a copy of Magonia, but for some reason haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’ve heard only great things, though, so I’m excited too!!

    Awesome picks Miguel!! 😀

  5. So many of these are SUCH great books! I just fangirled a bit about This Song Will Save Your Life in my reply comment to you, but I’ll just repeat it here: LOVE that book. I definitely agree: I was super frustrated with Elise’s situation, and I really adored her even when she was making stupid decisions. I truly loved that the ending was about *her* and family, though, and not about the happy ever after in a romance. 😛

    I can’t wait to get to More Happy Than Not. I found a signed copy in the airport a weekend back or so and it was specially signed because it was the first book Adam Silvera had written AND found in an airport. So super exciting. 😛 I hope I love it.

  6. I’ve only read Uprooted this year, This Song last year, and I’ve read absolutely nothing else on this list. But I really can’t wait to read Crimson Bound! But that’s going to happen after I clear all my ARCs off first.

Leave a Reply

