Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca

Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca

Release Date:  June 9th 2015 by Simon Pulse

Genres: Contemporary, Romance

Add to Goodreads | Purchase this Book

Before:
Kelsey and David became best friends the summer before freshman year and were inseparable ever after. Until the night a misunderstanding turned Kelsey into the school joke, and everything around her crumbled—including her friendship with David. So when Kelsey’s parents decided to move away, she couldn’t wait to start over and leave the past behind. Except, David wasn’t ready to let her go…

After:
Now it’s senior year and Kelsey has a new group of friends, genuine popularity, and a hot boyfriend. Her life is perfect. That is, until David’s family moves to town and he shakes up everything. Soon old feelings bubble to the surface and threaten to destroy Kelsey’s second chance at happiness. The more time she spends with David, the more she realizes she never truly let him go. And maybe she never wants to.

Told in alternating sections, LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE is a charming and romantic debut about loving, leaving, and letting go.

My Review.

Last Year’s Mistake is an easy, breezy, summery read. Though it’s not without the drama, it doesn’t go overboard. It was light and sweet as a slice of moist chocolate cake. And it’s the perfect read for warm summer nights.

As I was reading, I can’t help but draw similarities from The Night We Said Yes. It’s also told in alternating timelines and is a second chance romance. You’d think I’d be fed up with this trope by now, but I found this book to be completely different from The Night We Said Yes as I read on.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t the greatest fan of Present Kelsey. Though I can forgive her pining for David, I cannot forgive her for slut shaming. The words whore and slut came across so easy for her like she was validating a fact. And that did not make me happy at all. I actually enjoyed Past Kelsey more as she was less grating.

David, on the other hand, didn’t differ much from his past self. He reminded me of Peeta Mellark from The Hunger Games. They both have that nice, boy next door appeal going on. I really liked his friendship with Kelsey in the past. I thought that aspect of their relationship was fleshed out really well.

The romance was, in all honesty, much swoony. I don’t care what anybody else thinks of me after this but: I just can’t resist a second chance romance between friends turn to something more. The build-up to the end was EVERYTHING. And I for real was smiling so hard after.

Even though this didn’t quite reach my expectations, Ciocca still delivered the goods I wanted, and that was an easy, summery contemporary romance. The genre hasn’t failed me yet this year, so if you want to keep track of all the noteworthy contemporaries this year, you better write this one down.

This review was written summer of 2015. But I still quite like this book.

8 thoughts on “Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca

  1. I haven’t been to your blog in a whole but reading this review, I remembered how much I have missed your voice. I like how you were honest towards the end and not caring what anyone thought. That’s awesome! Go people who are unashamed of loving good contemporary romances! 🙂

Leave a Reply

