Conquering a Mountain

mountain

Oh, wait not that kind of mountain. I meant this kind of mountain.

shelfie mountain

I’m sure we’ve all said the expression, I have a mountain of books to read, and watch our non-reader friends roll their in eyes in disbelief. I mean, who has that many books to read? Us, obvs. Though some people manage to conquer said mountain, a lot of people already fail at the base. Including me. So why is that?

THEORY #1: THIS MOUNTAIN IS GROWING EVERY DAY

Statement: Ever heard of Goodreads? You know, that site with lots of books and shelves and whatnot? Well, I theorise that the more time we spend browsing on this Goodreads site, the greater the inevitability of this mountain to grow exponentially – which makes it harder to climb.

Presentation of Data: 

book-chart

THEORY #2: THIS MOUNTAIN IS INTIMIDATING

Statement: At first glance, mountains are pretty to look at and perfect to take selfies with. At second glance, you’ll realise the enormity of this mountain. At third glance, um, who would climb this thing? When I look at my TBR, I get the same sinking feeling.

Presentation of Data:

mountain-of-books

THEORY #3: THIS MOUNTAIN IS TO BE CONQUERED

Statement: And no matter how big your TBR mountain is, it should be conquered. Heck, it deserves to be conquered. Sometimes conquering doesn’t necessarily mean you’re going to really conquer the mountain. But if you do conquer the mountain, congratulations! You must read like an average of 1548 pages per minute.

Presentation of Data:

tbr

And those are just the books that I bother adding on Goodreads. Yikes.

CONCLUSION.

Mountains and TBR mountains. TBR mountains and mountains. There’s not much difference, eh? Anyway, I hope you’re conquering your mountains today. This has been my thesis.

how many books are in your TBR mountain?

 

7 thoughts on “Conquering a Mountain

  1. OH. MY. GOD.

    OH. MY. GOD.

    I mean, seriously??? I would be so, so, so scared if I were you. It’s hell intimidating.

    Actually, I’m good girl – or reader – with only 88 books in her TBR 😀 But that’s only because I remove books I own from by GR TBR.. ahah… so it’d probably be something like 200.

Leave a Reply

