#T5W Episode 1: Favourite Nomenclature

t5w

Hello, reader. Welcome to Episode 1 of Top 5 Wednesday! I’m sure you’ve heard of this meme going around the book community for a while now, but if you don’t know what #T5W is well. Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam of ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to participate in #T5W, you can head on over to their Goodreads group.

Today’s theme is……..

There’s just something about a unique and awesome name that gives a character lots of personality and makes them more memorable to the reader.

5. MACBETH

macbeth

When I read that favourite character names were going to be this week’s theme, there’s no way I wouldn’t include a Shakespearean character. There were so many to choose from, but ultimately I had to pick Macbeth. I loved his character and overall Macbeth is just a badass name.

4. AJAX PENUMBRA

ajax penumbra

Ajax Penumbra is a character from one of my all-time favourite novels, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. If you have not heard of this spectacular and out-of-this-world body of work, you can go check out my thoughts right here. I’ve always loved the word penumbra – the way it rolls of your tongue so smooooothly – and admittedly, it’s one of the reasons why I picked this book up.

3. DAENERYS TARGARYEN

daenerys targaryen

You may know her as the Unburnt Queen of the Andals, the Rhoynar, and of the First Men, Queen of Meereen, Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea, Breaker of Chains, Mother of Dragons – or just Daenerys Targaryen. Just that name alone evokes power and grace and royalty. It’s also one of the reasons why I was so curious with this Game of Thrones hype. Her name kept popping up everywhere! Kudos to George R.R. Martin for writing such a fabulous name.

2. RONAN LYNCH

ronan lynch

Ronan Lynch. Ronan Lynch. Ronan Lynch from The Raven Cycle. A mysterious name for an even mysterious character. I think most of the appeal of Ronan’s character – well, at least for me – comes from his name. I don’t know it just fits his brash personality so well.

1. NIKOLAI LANTSOV

nikolai lantsov

And coming in at numero uno is none other than the Young King of Ravka – Nikolai Lantsov. When I learned of this week’s theme, I already had my number one pick in mind aka this guy. Nikolai is such a fantastic name and the bearer is even more so…anyway.

what are your favourite character names?

11 thoughts on “#T5W Episode 1: Favourite Nomenclature

  1. Macbeth is a good one! I’ve always loved the name Holden for some reason… maybe it’s because I don’t know anyone named Holden in real life? Legolas is also a favorite haha 🙂

  2. Ooh this is such a cool topic! You’ve picked some great names for sure. *nods* I thought that all the names were lovely in The Raven Cycle to be honest haha. I also loved the names in Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows — especially Inej. (I LOVE INEJ. She’s awesome. And I also love her name. :P)

    1. I actually just wanted this to be all Raven Cycle characters aha. It was hard to choose but I gotta go with my boy, Ronan. I have yet to read Six of Crows but I have heard of this Inej – and yes, she sounds awesome already!

  3. Well this is an interesting one. I love all names of the Harry Potter series and The Mortal Instruments/The Infernal Devices. It’s not really something I usually think about, because that would make me too shallow lol and I don’t think names are that important. 😛

  4. These are excellent names! Names in fantasy are just so good. I’ve only watched two episodes of Game of Thrones and I already love Daenerys haha. Also the Harry Potter names. Rubeus Hagrid has to be my favourite.

Leave a Reply

