The One That Got Away – A Review

INTRODUCTION.

In another life I would make you stay, so I don’t have to say you were the one that got away.

Just as Stephanie Perkins is prolific with writing cutesy, swoony young-adult romances, A.J. Pine is her own beast when it comes to writing more mature but still cutesy, swoony new-adult romances.

I think there wasn’t an A.J. Pine novel that I didn’t thoroughly enjoy. And man, this novel is one of my favourites ever.

YE OLD BEST FRIENDS TURN TO LOVERS.

The One That Got Away follows best-friends-for-life Brynn Chandler and Jamie Kingston, and a fateful high school reunion night wherein a single kiss from ten years ago resurfaces. And for as long as he can remember, Jamie has basically been in love for Brynn. And so much pining and drama occur afterwards…

Admittedly, I’m a huge sucker for this trope especially when it’s done perfectly. The whole time I was rooting for Jamie and his marvellous plan of taking Brynn on a life-changing, love-altering road trip. Oh, and did I mention he’s also taking her to see a former high school crush? #ItHurtsEverywhereIKnow

MY LIST OF FAVOURITE THINGS.

What makes me so hooked on A.J. Pine’s stories is the little details she adds into the mix. For example, beer is constantly talked about here – since Jamie owns a beer house called the Kington Ale House – and believe it or not, it’s one of the most romantic things in this novel.

Another thing – I’m also a huge sucker for road-trip novels and they have never failed me so far. And just the crazy things that happen to Brynn and Jamie during their trip and how the feelings escalated was sooooo ❤️.

Another, another thing – A.J. Pine gives great inspiration for playlists. The whole time I was reading, I was making my own soundtrack for this book in my head.

CONCLUSION.

I really, really recommend The One That Got Away if you’re looking for a nice summer read – funny, I read this when summer was already over for us here in the south-east. I also recommend checking out A.J. Pine’s other books! She’s a fantastic author with lots of fantastic stories.

SOUNDTRACK.

Where are my manners? Here’s my soundtrack for this book that will surely give you all the feels.

STILL INTO YOU BY PARAMORE

TEENAGE DREAM BY KATY PERRY

IRIS BY GOO GOO DOLLS

8 thoughts on “The One That Got Away – A Review

  1. THAT GIF (and all your other gifs) ARE SO PERFECT I LOVE THEM (do you mind if I use them in my reviews too? I’ll give you credit for the idea of course!) Also this book sounds amazing, I love road trip novels too (probably because going on a road trip is on my bucket list of things to do one day) and I love Stephanie Perkins so AJ Perkins sounds like an author for me!

    Great review, I can’t believe I haven’t visited your wonderful blog more often but now my exams are over I will definitely do!

    hawwa
    http://www.hawwaetc.com

  2. I have so many feelings about this soundtrack. Eek. I’m in need of a good fluffy swoony book, considering I’m just getting over a nasty breakup, and this sounds like the perfect read – road trips and friends-to-lovers and angst yet adorableness? YES. Thank you so much for sharing, love. I’m buying it on my Kindle as soon as I can. ❤

    Topaz | Six Impossible Things

Leave a Reply

