Stutter Love, Suffer Love – A Review

suffer-love

INTRODUCTION.

BEATRICE: But for which of my good parts did you first suffer love for me?

BENEDICK: Suffer love! A good epithet! I do suffer love indeed, for I love thee against my will.

I’m sure a lot of you have already read or heard of this lovely 2016 debut by now. So here’s my two cents on the wonderfully titled Suffer Love by Ashley Herring Blake.

TOO MATURE FOR YA?

Like most readers noted, this novel has a very mature tone and also deals with some very mature themes. There’s also a hefty dose of drama thrown in there. Should you be intimidated? Don’t be. For once, reading this book has given me lots of perspective about love and family and just being a teenager overall.

WELCOME TO THE FAM.

One of the mature themes in this novel is family and dealing with separated parents…and affairs. And yes – this is the soap opera-ish portion of the novel. For some time now, I was looking for that special YA novel that’s family-positive and not just some teenage romance. Though there was a lot of that in here, the fam wasn’t neglected.

My favourite chapters in the novel were actually the scenes wherein Hadley and Sam were with their parents respectively. There was great dynamic and it felt authentic. You know it doesn’t try too hard to be perfect-for-YA or anything like that.

STUTTER LOVE, SUFFER LOVE.

Of course, the real focus here is the Benedick/Beatrice like romance of Sam and Hadley. Admittedly, I was really stoked when they were discussing Much Ado about Nothing since it’s my fave Shakespeare play #okaymiguel. Anyway! I found the romance here to be very subdued. Like you know there’s tension? But it never really escalate like you expected?

But when it does escalate……wheeew. And hooray for no insta-love! I like how even though there was instant chemistry between Hadley and Sam, there were both very assessing of each other at first.

CONCLUSION.

Honestly, I don’t know if anybody’s going to read this review lol. There’s been hype surrounding this book at the time of its release and I can say without a doubt that the hype is worth it. Hands-down, one of the most well-written contemporary YA of this year! So much love ❤️

 

9 thoughts on “Stutter Love, Suffer Love – A Review

  1. Great review. I must have missed this one because I haven’t heard of the book before this post.Glad to hear that the hype is worth it and yay to no insta-love! Definitely adding it to my TBR!

  2. I will read as many reviews of yours as possible, Miguel. AND I’M SO EXCITED because you mentioned Shakespeare and Much Ado About Nothing and wasn’t that a beautiful play? Wasn’t it? Your review encourages me to read this book. I won’t admit, I’m a bit hesitant. And honestly mature themes aren’t too bad! There are teens who deal with mature things, unfortunately, so it’s good for it to be portrayed. It encompasses everyone. :). But I totally get you, YA shouldn’t be written for adults but for teens, that’s for sure.

  3. Lovely review! I have eyeing this novel for some time because of the cover, because let’s get real, it’s adorable. However, your review definitely got me more intrigued in the actual storyline rather than just the graphics.

Leave a Reply

